19040 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Edit: The title is a big hint. Shouldn't be too hard.
Well, given that black is in check if the board coordinates are right it can't be White's move -- the board is upside-down?
Black is not only in check before the move .... he is in checkmate. My suggested move for White is to extend his right hand and say," Good game."
You'll have use more logic than that.
But there are no legal moves in this position...
Oh wait GG is arrogance...
black has just captured en passant and not yet removed white's pawn!
Looks like someon hit the answer! IF you were looking closely, Black has 15 pieces (and pawns). But if Black didn't do en passant, White would have to be there only by capturing two pieces. But Black has 15, so that is impossible. Black hasn't completed his half of his move and hasn't removed the pawn!
There is three answers, all including different logic.
1. Yes, White should resign after Black finishes his en passant capture.
2. If this were a tournament, then no, White cannot resign, as resigning in a middle of a move is impolite.
3. Resigning is beside the point as White is half a move away from mate!
P.S. What does "Obivous" mean?
It means obvious, obivously - duh!
Nope. Its BLACK'S move and he hasn't finished en passant. Notice if it's white move, he'll have to do 2 captures. But there is 15 black pieces.
You have to use Retroanalysis you dummy!
The diagram says it's White's move. This puzzle is a fail. Perhaps you should have been specific from the start because all you really managed to do is tick people off. There are far better "retroanalysis" puzzles than this one and somehow the op always manages to explain what is required.
logic is not important. ignoring the bit where it says white to move is key.
I think the OP is an idoit.
Unofrtunately, I couldn't take the "White to move" off. So shut up and get out of here or solve.
mbti personality types and chess
by dannyhume a few minutes ago
Is there any chance that a 1300 rated player can beat a 2700 rated player?
by DjonniDerevnja 3 minutes ago
Analyse my chess games please
by GodsPawn2016 3 minutes ago
by GodsPawn2016 4 minutes ago
Report Spam here! Spam Only! Not abuse, not cheating, Spam Only!
by GodsPawn2016 5 minutes ago
rules of cheas
by BlargDragon 7 minutes ago
Magnus Carlsen Refuted:
by logozar 9 minutes ago
by kincsaminincs 10 minutes ago
9/26/2016 - Up And Over
by enriqueebe 15 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
Try the new Chess.com!
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!