Obivous Answer! Or is it?

  • #1

    This isn't a illegal question or anything and no tricks used. But to get this right, you have to use some logic here.

    Edit: The title is a big hint. Shouldn't be too hard. Laughing

  • #2

    Well, given that black is in check if the board coordinates are right it can't be White's move -- the board is upside-down?

  • #3

    Black is not only in check before the move .... he is in checkmate. My suggested move for White is to extend his right hand and say," Good game."

  • #4

    1.cxb5

  • #5
    AnthonyCG wrote:

    1.cxb5


     Wrong.

  • #6
    1pawndown wrote:

    Black is not only in check before the move .... he is in checkmate. My suggested move for White is to extend his right hand and say," Good game."


     You'll have use more logic than that.

  • #7
    omglolbbqpizza wrote:
    1pawndown wrote:

    Black is not only in check before the move .... he is in checkmate. My suggested move for White is to extend his right hand and say," Good game."


     You'll have use more logic than that.


    But there are no legal moves in this position...

  • #8
    AnthonyCG wrote:
    omglolbbqpizza wrote:
    1pawndown wrote:

    Black is not only in check before the move .... he is in checkmate. My suggested move for White is to extend his right hand and say," Good game."


     You'll have use more logic than that.


    But there are no legal moves in this position...


    Oh wait GG is arrogance...

  • #9
    Compensation wrote:

    black has just captured en passant and not yet removed white's pawn!


     Looks like someon hit the answer! IF you were looking closely, Black has 15 pieces (and pawns). But if Black didn't do en passant, White would have to be there only by capturing two pieces. But Black has 15, so that is impossible. Black hasn't completed his half of his move and hasn't removed the pawn!

    There is three answers, all including different logic.

    1. Yes, White should resign after Black finishes his en passant capture.

    2. If this were a tournament, then no, White cannot resign, as resigning in a middle of a move is impolite.

    3. Resigning is beside the point as White is half a move away from mate!

  • #10
    Compensation wrote:

    P.S.  What does "Obivous" mean?  


    It means obvious, obivously - duh!

  • #11

    But white can also just capture the king with his pawn.
  • #12
    Supermissile wrote:

     

    But white can also just capture the king with his pawn.

     Nope. Its BLACK'S move and he hasn't finished en passant. Notice if it's white move, he'll have to do 2 captures. But there is 15 black pieces.

    You have to use Retroanalysis you dummy! Yell

  • #13

    The diagram says it's White's move. This puzzle is a fail. Perhaps you should have been specific from the start because all you really managed to  do is tick people off. There are far better "retroanalysis" puzzles than this one and somehow the op always manages to explain what is required.

  • #14

    logic is not important. ignoring the bit where it says white to move is key.

  • #15

    I think the OP is an idoit.

  • #16
    AnthonyCG wrote:

    The diagram says it's White's move. This puzzle is a fail. Perhaps you should have been specific from the start because all you really managed to  do is tick people off. There are far better "retroanalysis" puzzles than this one and somehow the op always manages to explain what is required.


     Unofrtunately, I couldn't take the "White to move" off. So shut up and get out of here or solve.

  • #17
    A measured response to be sure.
  • #18

Top
or Join

Online Now