x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

Tricky Puzzle

  • #1

    White to move and NOT checkmate in 1 !

  • #2

    nice tricky pu zzle Wink no move to white in this rules so it's mate Smile

  • #3

    Rook c6, blocking the long diagonal and allowing the black rook to capture on h7... good one. :-)

  • #4

    ah yes you are right Rc6 -> Rxh7

  • #5
    Doyoulikechess wrote:

    Rook c6, blocking the long diagonal and allowing the black rook to capture on h7... good one. :-)

    Well-done this is the only move which not checkmate ;))

  • #6

    This is a classic puzzle.

  • #7

    Rc6

  • #8

    White has 2 whie bishops

  • #9

    Note:
    It's mate in 1 (1.Nc3# ; 1.Ng3# or 1.Rg7#) but it was designed mate in 2. Laughing

  • #10

    I prefer the checkmate by any of the knights.what if black play Rb8 and check the black king and then play black bishop to take e3 the game may continoue for some time, is it a random game ?? , the setup of the board is strange !!!

  • #11
    Nielzzoz wrote:

    I prefer the checkmate by any of the knights.what if black play Rb8 and check the black king and then play black bishop to take e3 the game may continoue for some time, is it a random game ?? , the setup of the board is strange !!!

    How can black play Rb8? Black is in check with Rc6+

  • #12
    Disgruntled_Sheep wrote:
    Nielzzoz wrote:

    I prefer the checkmate by any of the knights.what if black play Rb8 and check the black king and then play black bishop to take e3 the game may continoue for some time, is it a random game ?? , the setup of the board is strange !!!

    How can black play Rb8? Black is in check with Rc6+

    this is after white has play Rc6 covering the check look at the second move.

  • #13

    And I can go further to tell you the black king can be checkmate only by one of the knights look at this 

    if black after Rc6 play Rb8 checkmate white king and take the Ba8 ,why black has to play Rh7 ? the only possible end is by one of the knights that is not the end of the game 

  • #14
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #15
    Nielzzoz hat geschrieben:

    And I can go further to tell you the black king can be checkmate only by one of the knights look at this 

    if black after Rc6 play Rb8 checkmate white king and take the Ba8 ,why black has to play Rh7 ? the only possible end is by one of the knights that is not the end of the game 

    1. Rc6+ Rxh7 this is the only legal move for black. Black can't move 1. ...Rb8+ he must react to the check.

  • #16
    Andique wrote:
    Nielzzoz hat geschrieben:

    And I can go further to tell you the black king can be checkmate only by one of the knights look at this 

    if black after Rc6 play Rb8 checkmate white king and take the Ba8 ,why black has to play Rh7 ? the only possible end is by one of the knights that is not the end of the game 

    1. Rc6+ Rxh7 this is the only legal move for black. Black can't move 1. ...Rb8+ he must react to the check.

    Noted thanks.

  • #17
    Nielzzoz wrote:
    Andique wrote:
    Nielzzoz hat geschrieben:

    And I can go further to tell you the black king can be checkmate only by one of the knights look at this 

    if black after Rc6 play Rb8 checkmate white king and take the Ba8 ,why black has to play Rh7 ? the only possible end is by one of the knights that is not the end of the game 

    1. Rc6+ Rxh7 this is the only legal move for black. Black can't move 1. ...Rb8+ he must react to the check.

    Noted thanks.

    But also could some one tell me why Rc6 ? moving the rook to any squire will finish the game blocking the white bishop is not a good move I think ,giving black one more move why ?white has blocked his white bishop if he move the rook the game would have finished---- its mate in 1 if by the knight or by moving the rook its mate in 1 .Am telling if the white rook move to any one squire in the board rather than Rc6 its mate in 1,how you open an attack and you block yourself at the other side  .its not the right move please some one to tell me am fasting Ramadan may be I miss something.

  • #18

    Yes, you're missing the whole point of the puzzle. It is said that White to move and not mate in 1. Not all puzzles need you to find the best move.

  • #19
    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • #20
    [COMMENT DELETED]

Online Now