Forums

Any advice for a chess club???

Sort:
JaggedEdge03

I have been sponsoring my middle school chess club for a few years now.  I have roughly 20-30 kids in my room any given morning.  I have run mini tournaments within the club and we play bughouse on Fridays.  What I am looking for is any advice on how to really push my kids to get better and still really enjoy coming every morning.

JaggedEdge03

great thought thanks!!

JaggedEdge03

Any other suggestions???? 

MJH25

I would perhaps try and get them interested in this site.

Also, I might convince them to enter in local tournaments, nothing big or expensive, but just something to get their feet wet.  If money is an issue, offer to meet half the cost or something like that.  If they can't afford the $50 it might take (just throwing out a number), maybe encourage them to go around raising money for themselves, almost like the girl scouts.  Not only does this teach them socialization skills, but them they will be more likely to play hard in the tourney if it is their money that they put into it.

JaggedEdge03

I have gotten a few of my club members to get chess.com accounts (about 8 or 10).  However, they seem to like Live Chess the most.  Unfortunately, based on what my mentors have told me and my own experience, I know that they are not learning nearly as much as they could if they played more turn based games.  A few have joined our group which is good because they then can see some of the best matches from our higher boards.  

MJH25

well, see if you can get them to join turn-based tourneys.  That will get their feet wet and they won't want to lose in a tournament.

JaggedEdge03

true.... I made a group for our chess club and I have set up a turn based tourny for them.  Hopefully that will help generate a little more competition within the club.  I would like to maybe post a weekly update of all their ratings so they have something to continually try to strive for something. 

MJH25

That's a good idea.