Forums

Do you coach a chess team/club

Sort:
CauseyT

Hi,  my name is Tom and I am an administrator in a public elementary school in Louisville, KY.  I started an after-school chess club a couple of years ago.  I would like to invite anyone who works with kids and chess to contribute ideas or questions so that we may help each other out.  Thanks for posting. 

espadagreen

I myself personally thinks that you should be bringing board games such as chess andcheckers. Why because these are thinking board games that childrenshould know of. If you can find any other gmes similar to it great but I think you have to have chess and checkers. I hope this has helped you out alot! Oh yeah you should also get some of them to know this website, it`s great!   

CauseyT
Thanks for the reply.  I do plan on introducing my kids to this website, too bad they don't have a kids section ...  Do they??
gramos9956

Hi Tom,

My friend, frank713 on this website, coaches a children's chess club/team in Hawaii.  I am sure he would be happy to talk about it with you!

Take care, and good luck!

George

KillaBeez
I would probably start them off with Chessmaster, which can really help their ability.
Bobblehead

I find it best to teach baisc peice movement, excluding castling until later and then pit them against each other, as they play the staff and I walk around and talk to the players about there games and watch them play out their position.

orientpal

Hi all

I coach an English primary School chess club for about 12 years now,if i can be of any help please contact me.

Playing is the best way to improve a junior,if possible they should play people slightly better than them.

Richard

mattymath