FREE - In Google Play
FREE - in Win Phone Store
Can anyone advise about how someone can go on vacation and stop progress in the tournament? One of the opponents in my group has gone on vacation. Time remaining still says 3 days even though the last move in the game by them was ages ago. I am in a winning position and once I win I will have the second highest points and the 1st round for my group will be complete.
I do not understand why this situation is allowed to occur. Shouldn't going on vacation automatically mean they withdraw from the tournament. This is my first time in a tournament so I do not know the etiquette. Surely one person can't just hold everyone else up??!!
> how someone can go on vacation and stop progress in the tournament?
His vacation isn't holding up the whole tournament, because many games are not even half-way done yet. For example, look at group #38.
Imagine a tournament in real life where one day black side of the board is empty. Kramnik asks the judge: "Where is Topalov?" The judge replies: "He went to somewhere sunny and warm with a late plane last night."
Sometimes i don t feel for playing chess for somedays,i go on vacations because of time limit.but i still log on to chess.com to be updated on the chess news.any harm on that?people are making a big deal out of this.