Forums

Unbelievable scene at tournament

Sort:
naturalproduct

Last night I played my very first tournament game since I started playing 3 months ago. After 51 moves, 4h (lasting until almost midnight), and an opening by black that I had no idea how to deal with (The Scandinavian in response to e4), I lost after building a winning position with his King pushed towards the center on check as I pleased.... Then an outrageous scene that ruined my night....

Table down from me a younger kid (he seemed like he was having a hard time with the clock or notes...whatever) was quietly talking with his opponent about getting their moves down correct. I think he had copied down some moves wrong and they were just comparing score cards. There was no chatting about moves....etc...I thought NOTHING of this, and neither did anyone else but one guy. All of a sudden he starts flipping out and yells "S.O.B. you and that dumn fu----- kid are doing this to me all the time! FU and that kid, I'm handicapped and I dont need this s---!" To which the other older man obliged him with a flurry of profanities all his own. Now...a drunken sailor would have blushed...so use your imagination about the dirtiest things two old dudes could yell at one another. Meanwhile the rest of us are out of outr game are telling them to take it outside, the kids in there were speechless...it was just horrific. The director comes in and now HE starts chatting to everyone..."its OK...so on..". I was so entirely upset by this that while the yelling was going on I blundered a knight for a pawn. I immediately went from an easy win to losing. I think I made a huge mistake by not taking a time out and having added time put on our clocks. Then we get into a never ending endgame.