Qatar Masters: Giri, Kramnik, Mamedyarov Top Seeds

Qatar Masters: Giri, Kramnik, Mamedyarov Top Seeds

PeterDoggers
PeterDoggers
Nov 26, 2014, 12:16 AM |
31 | Chess Event Coverage

Today the Qatar Masters open takes off in Doha, Qatar.

The top seeds are the Dutch #1 Anish Giri, the 14th world champion Vladimir Kramnik and the Tal Memorial blitz winner Shakhriyar Mamedyarov!

The tournament is one of the strongest, if not the strongest open of the year, with 154 participants all rated above 2200 and no less than 14 GMs rated 2700 or higher.

You can follow live commentary from Doha at Chess.com/TV every day, from 3 pm local time (4 am Los Angeles, 7 am New York, 12 pm London, 1 pm Amsterdam and 5:30 pm Mumbai).

So who's playing? Here's the impressive top 50 (find the full list here):

Qatar Masters Open 2014 | Top 50

No. Title Name FED Rtg No. Title Name FED Rtg
1 GM Giri NED 2776 26 GM Akopian ARM 2657
2 GM Kramnik RUS 2760 27 GM Mamedov AZE 2652
3 GM Mamedyarov AZE 2757 28 GM Efimenko UKR 2644
4 GM Vachier-Lagrave FRA 2751 29 GM Bologan MDA 2643
5 GM Ding Liren CHN 2730 30 GM Ivanisevic SRB 2643
6 GM Harikrishna IND 2725 31 GM Shankland USA 2642
7 GM Jobava GEO 2722 32 GM A.Vovk UKR 2640
8 GM Eljanov UKR 2719 33 GM Rakhmanov RUS 2636
9 GM Naiditsch GER 2719 34 GM Romanov RUS 2636
10 GM Tomashevsky RUS 2714 35 GM Gupta IND 2632
11 GM Bu Xiangzhi CHN 2707 36 GM Adhiban IND 2630
12 GM Kryvoruchko UKR 2706 37 GM Dubov RUS 2629
13 GM Yu Yangyi CHN 2705 38 GM Safarli AZE 2628
14 GM Moiseenko UKR 2701 39 GM Volokitin UKR 2627
15 GM Sargissian ARM 2687 40 GM Mchedlishvili GEO 2622
16 GM Cheparinov BUL 2684 41 GM Salgado ESP 2622
17 GM Saric CRO 2680 42 GM Durarbayli AZE 2621
18 GM Melkumyan ARM 2678 43 GM Naroditsky USA 2620
19 GM Sjugirov RUS 2673 44 GM Oleksienko UKR 2620
20 GM Berkes HUN 2669 45 GM Perunovic SRB 2619
21 GM Fedorchuk UKR 2664 46 GM E.L'Ami NED 2618
22 GM Bartel POL 2662 47 GM Hamdouchi FRA 2616
23 GM Kuzubov UKR 2661 48 GM Mista POL 2616
24 GM Edouard FRA 2659 49 GM Swiercz POL 2616
25 GM Movsesian ARM 2659 50 GM Ganguly IND 2615

The Qatar Masters Open 2014, a 9-round Swiss, is played November 26-December 4 at the business center of the Crowne Plaza in Doha. The total prize fund is $110,000, with a $25,000 first prize.

The time control is 90 minutes for the first 40 moves, plus 30 minutes for the rest of the game with an increment of 30 seconds per move starting from the move 1. 

The players are not allowed to offer or to agree for a draw before 30 moves have been completed by both players.

Follow the action at Chess.com/TV!

More from PeterDoggers
European Chess Club Cup: St Petersburg, Monaco Take Titles

European Chess Club Cup: St Petersburg, Monaco Take Titles

European Chess Club Cup: Carlsen Escapes, Valerenga Sole Leader

European Chess Club Cup: Carlsen Escapes, Valerenga Sole Leader