GaborHorvath
Joined
22 Jan 2018
Last Online
2 days ago
Mitazamo
2,402
Followers
231
Idadi ya alama
185
Diamond Member
Since 1 Okt 2018
Chess.com Coach

Hi,

I am Gabor Horvath, a chess coach originally from Hungary. I am 39 years old and live in Belfast, Northern Ireland.


A little bit about me

I learnt chess from my father when I was 6 and have been participating in tournaments since I was 14. My home town had a thriving chess life, and I was fortunate enough to be able to work with renowned Hungarian coaches IM Bela Molnar and IM Gyula Meszaros. During this time I studied and played with some talented young players who later became professionals (GM Gyula Pap, GM Gabor Papp, GM Ferenc Berkes, GM Peter Acs, WGM Anna Rudolf). Thanks to this, I gained a solid foundation in chess which I put to good use in my coaching practice.

Over the years I have won a number of tournaments in Hungary, Brazil, England, Ireland, and Northern Ireland. (Yes, I am a bit of a globetrotter happy.png). You can find some of my recent results here:

http://www.chessni.co.uk/gaborhorvath.html

I have been coaching for 10 years and do it as a full-time job now. I have been working with some talented youngsters (one of my students plays for the English U12 team), but I also coach adult club players up to 2100 FIDE.

I was selected as Coach of the Month on Chess.com in February 2020. You can read the interview here:

https://www.chess.com/article/view/chess-coach-month-gabor-horvath?alert=content


How I can help you

As I have a lot of experience in teaching both kids and adults at all levels, I am familiar with the common difficulties people struggling with, and know how to overcome them.

If you decide to work with me, we will:

  • Identify your recurring mistakes and get rid of them with specific training.
  • Learn how to apply a principled way of thinking to find the best moves.
  • Learn effective training methods, so you know how to make the most of your studying time.

How your lessons will look

My lessons are highly interactive, which means that we solve a lot of puzzles and exercises together. There is usually a theoretical part, explaining an important concept illustrated by examples, but what we exactly learn will depend on your particular needs, so there is no set curriculum. At the end of every lesson I provide you with some bonus material for further independent studying. We will use Skype/Zoom with video and audio sharing, and a digital board (a shared analysis board on chess.com or a Chessbase board).

My English is close to native level, so communication between us should work well.


If you are interested...

... then please drop me an email to hogata11@gmail.com or send a private message here. First we will arrange a free, non-committal Skype chat to discuss your goals and get to know each other.

The price of a lesson is 30 GBP / 40 USD per hour.