11864 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
After the puzzle has been solved, it would be nice to have the chance to explore other variations of that same position against the computer. I'm no computer guy but it seems to me that it would be a simple setup that would encourage players to learn on their own.
great moves...nice puzzle....
Black missed 1...Qa1+ 2. Rxa1 Rxa1+ 3. Qb1 Raxb1# or 3... Rbxb1#.
White missed 2. Qxf7+ Kh8 3. Qxg7#.
Black missed 2...Qd1#.
Remember, both sides have a weak back rank. Otherwise 1. Qxb7 would be a really nice move.
Since Bryan681972 already pointed out the mechanics of the failings of this puzzle, I will allow myself to be a little more judgmental and (in the words of The Simpsons' Comic Book Guy) say: worst puzzle ever!!
Edit: This is regarding the puzzle Vasu1613 posted and not the original chess.com puzzle.
Interesting puzzle. Not a forced mate, but if I'm not mistaken, the only way out for Black is by sacrificing his Queen, and what a cowardly thing to do that would be!!
Mate is forced, but can be extended for another move. Sacrificing the Queen doesn't help, eg 1. Qf6 Qe6 2. Qd8+ Qe8 3. QxQe8#.Mate can be extended to 5 moves by not taking the Bishop.1. Qf6 Rg8 2. Bxf7 d5 3. BxRg8+ KxBg8 4. Re8+ QxRe8 5. QxBg7#
On 1. Qf6 Rg8 2. Bxf7 d5, quicker is 3. Bxg6+ (3. Be8+ or 3. Bxd5+ also work) Qf7 4. Qxf7#.
Quite right, overlooked that in my haste!
easy one, but i still don't understand why the picked up piece isn't where the cursor, but with 2 squares under it
Does anything prohibit black from not taking Bishop at f7?
Something like taking the other Bishop instead for example
If black plays 2...Bxh6 instead of 2...Qxf7 then any of the following moves also result in checkmate in four: 3. Bxg6+, 3. Be8+, 3. Bd5+, 3. Bc4+, 3. Bb3+. Those moves force 3...Qf7, and then 4. Qxf7# is checkmate.
Can I get by without paid material for my openings?
by BettorOffSingle a few minutes ago
7/30/2015 - Danger Danger
by cutiepierock 3 minutes ago
Training like a maniac
by BettorOffSingle 5 minutes ago
Hurt/Heal World Top 10
by jerry1228 6 minutes ago
by Whip_Kitten 8 minutes ago
Abandoned games and reconnecting.
by mosai 8 minutes ago
The queen may rule the chess board, but women players get second-class treatment
by mosai 11 minutes ago
Banned from Live chess
by lone_speaker 19 minutes ago
Deleting an Account
by baddogno 22 minutes ago
by King_undercover_vamp 24 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!