Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Pandolfini's Puzzler #6 -

  • NM brucepandolfini
  • | Sep 6, 2013
  • | 4947 views
  • | 16 comments

“Some situations seem so innocent,” Professor Pando observed. 
----
“Yet even the simplest positions can hide a clever tactic.”
----
“Take a look at the following position, with White to move.”
----
----
Question: How can White win a rook by force?
----
At first, Lucian looked at checking, either Ra1-a8+ or Ra1-d1+. But neither move won a rook. 
----
He also thought about 1. Ra1-a7. But that didn’t win a rook either. 
----
Then Lucian got an idea. “I think I have the answer.”
----
What winning move did Lucian find?
----
Answers Below - Try to solve ProfessorPando's Puzzle first!
----
ANSWER #6
----
Lucian came up with the startling 1. 0-0-0+! – a strange double attack that wins the Black rook.
----
----
Take note
----
Yes, White can castle. His rook goes through “check,” but not his king.
----
Castling is OK here!
----
Also, don’t automatically assume that castling is a defensive move. Sometimes, it’s done merely for attacking purposes.
----


RELATED STUDY MATERIAL

- Watch FunMasterMike's personal experience with the exact same move;

- Review all the rules of castling here;

- Read all the castling terms in the ChessKid glossary, including castling short, castling long, and castling by hand.

Comments


  • 11 months ago

    Sunnyboya

    SWEEET! NICE ONE!

  • 12 months ago

    mayingjunlang

    somehow i found it funny.. good puzzle

  • 12 months ago

    plesant1

    Ha... this is cute, but it's a "trick" not a tactic.  It plays on the fact that most people would consider that castling is no longer a option.  If you know that castling is an option, you can't miss it.

  • 13 months ago

    dennyhan

    Should say you can still castle in that position. Undecided

  • 13 months ago

    mgwxta19

    Well, it would be very rare to reach an endgame like this where the white king had not yet moved (and thus was able to castle). I think that's what makes this one so tricky. 

  • 13 months ago

    rnai

    Laughingsimple and beautiful

  • 13 months ago

    AdarshSaji

    Never thought about that! Nice oneWink!

  • 13 months ago

    billlearns

    Wow! I learned something new today. The rook can pass thru an attack during a castle. I thought it was the King and Rook that couldn't pass through an attack. Bruce's books are so imformative or are they Ben's? lol.

  • 13 months ago

    faith_defender

    Surprised

  • 13 months ago

    William_A

    Didn't even go for castling,nice one

  • 13 months ago

    bongcloudftw

    lol hard to imagine the king hasn't moved by the time that many pieces were traded. hence i forgot about castling.

  • 13 months ago

    jcm1978

    Haha, good puzzle.

  • 13 months ago

    aadchesskid

    How can one think of castling here? Its a endgame, and usually it will be thought ( atleast I did, maybe others too) casteling had already been done.

    even though, it was a good one.

  • 13 months ago

    upen2002

    easy

  • 13 months ago

    coolthing

    Woah, nice!

Back to Top

Post your reply: