Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Stalemate

  • Last updated on 8/1/07, 6:14 AM.

  • Send to friend
  • | 47 reads
  • | 18 comments

The rule regarding stalemate first appeared in Europe in A. Saul's Famous Game of Chesse-Play, published in 1614.  In England, the player who gave stalemate lost the game.  In Italy and France stalemate counted as a draw.  In Spain and Portugal it counted as an inferior win (a half-win).  Some countries didn't even allow it.  Finally, in 1808, the London Chess Club laws gave stalemate as a draw and it has remained so ever since.  The shortest stalemate is this pre-arranged game: 1.c4 h5 2.h4 a5 3.Qa4 Ra6 4.Qxa5 Rah6 5.Qxc7 f6 6.Qxd7+ Kf7 7.Qxb7 Qd3 8.Qxb8 Qh7 9.Qxc8 Kg6 10.Qe6 stalemate.  The game was played in the Swedish Junior Championship in 1995.

Comments


  • 6 years ago · Quote · #1

    b-sheers

    I like the background info, however, it would be prudent to define what a stalemate is, and then go into further detail.  Just a thought!

  • 6 years ago · Quote · #2

    Kurumi

    Good thought! x.o
  • 6 years ago · Quote · #3

    kristinamaria

    I was thinking the same! A definition would be a great idea! :)


  • 6 years ago · Quote · #4

    Hohenheim

  • 6 years ago · Quote · #5

    srn347

    Stalemate is a draw and will not be changed any further. Sometimes the threat of stalemate has been enough to make players lose a game(there are ways to threaten stalemate, and sometimes it must be accepted)!

  • 6 years ago · Quote · #6

    kellar

    like a chess board diagram you mean

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #7

    chancydog

    I agree that a defintion would be good- I know of course that if the king is not currently in check but cannot move without going into check, and his side has no other pieces, then that is stale mate, as it is if there are other pieces but these are blocked so they cannot be moved. What I want to know is - if a single move is repeated by both sides three times- then it is a draw, is that also referred to as a stalemate.  Does this three repetition rule count on chess.com, it doesn't seem to on the computor games?

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #8

    tapout123

    Thanks for the info

  • 4 years ago · Quote · #9

    Matthew11

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 3 years ago · Quote · #10

    big_boss34

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #11

    neptune2

    That's not a stalemate, it's a draw by insufficient material.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #12

    janeysolis

    it is better to give more complex example of stalemate Cool.

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #13

    samuel_r900

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #14

    sillavnitram

    do kings always have to be a square apart or can they move in and be right next to each other?

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #15

    SandLord

    You cannot place you king  into  check. ether from moving a "pinned" piece that is keeping your king from being checked or from attacking a guarded piece. you lose if you cannot. move your king out of check. block him from being checked or take the piece attacking. if the king is being checked from two pieces you cannot use any piece to take one the the attacking pieces because you are still checked. 

  • 2 years ago · Quote · #16

    SandLord

    stalemate.   having no other avalible move except one causeing your king to be checked. sense you cannot cause your king to be checked but it is your move. you cannot move and so cannot be killed. i think being stalemated counts as a lose and a draw.(a game that has no possible checkmate from ether player) is a tie. 

  • 23 months ago · Quote · #17

    Ineedphenylalanine

    In one of my games, my position became awful but my opponent accidentally stalemated me.Laughing

  • 20 months ago · Quote · #18

    NapoleonV

    big_boss34,

    The position you showed (2 Kings and nothing else) is NOT a stalemate draw.

    It is an insufficient-material draw.

Back to Top

Post your reply: