15703 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
mashanator: There are 8 missing units, 2 of them are the bishops. That leaves 6 for c7 to go to g1. Why did you discard one for g1 but later count it again?
Haha. Now that was a stupid oversight.
I should really just read this thread...
numbers one and two definitely (for 1, black wasn't on the 8h side, and as of 2, the knight moved forward and backward).
Three is defintiely possible using the white knights to kill the black ones and then just have the rook move over one square and then back at the end.
Four is almost possible, but black would only be able to move his/her pawns at the end, destryoing the situation.
#1430, problem 1. I'm not sure whether this is correct...
White made 8 promotions (all to rook). Promoting the pawns from a,b,g,h files requires at least 6 captures (axbxa/c, bxa/c, hxgxf, gxf), the exact missing number of Black's units. Thus White's c,d,e,f pawns marched straight. This also implies Black made cross captures to let c,f pawns through (cxd to let White's c-pawn to promote, and then dxc to replace a pawn back to c-file; likewise with fxe and exf). But then d,e pawns are blocked; Black has already used up all 4 captures, and at no time did d- and e-files were empty of Black pawns, so White couldn't promote the central two pawns. So the position is illegal.
#1430 (1) is legal.
Yes, black made 2 sets of cross captures c/d and e/f. There is a way to let all 4 white pawns straight through.
Without checking #1430...
Yes that is legal. I trust Remellion.
...oh crap, really, did I just forget the trick? (White's d-pawn goes to d6; Black captures c6xd5; White's c-pawn marches straight; Black captures d7xc6; White's d-pawn marches straight as well.)
This is what I ment, I got a Roook at h2
"FIDE Grand Prix, Round 8 | Hosts: GMs Evgeny Miroshnichenko and Viorel Iordachescu"
The game should let you swear
by ivandh a few minutes ago
please help me improve my game!
by Mal_Smith a few minutes ago
5/22/2015 - Surya Ganguly - Emanuel Berg , Gibraltar, 2009
by Djazbin a few minutes ago
How to fill the gap in my repertoire
by RawVice 9 minutes ago
how to master chess theory?
by ivandh 9 minutes ago
Should I play 1.d4?
by iplayforsherlock 9 minutes ago
Moving a Pawn Twice in the Opening
by Rumo75 11 minutes ago
Who is the best chess player ever?
by jerryhemeke2076 11 minutes ago
by VyboR 21 minutes ago
If you could change one rule of chess,what would it be?
by Madness20 22 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!