11705 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
you're right Fralnp! it may look like your puzzle but i just wanted to show that if the pawn on e5 was on e6 the rook could be there by promotion
Yes sadly, pigs will fly and gold fall off trees 'til I get a darn puzzle right.
Thanks to notice the tiny flaw in my presentation. You seems yourself quite the expert in those retro puzzles. Great work!
Alright I'll repost some good puzzles from the older thread that I linked before. Will post more if you like, but there are many hard ones there
Possible or Impossible?
Not even with a knight in between because there's no way to reach that position with a knight there. And if a rook took a knight, then it wouldn't be white to move unless the king was still in check.
I've done puzzle 2
Someone else can do the rest
Number 1: Impossible, I believe. I tried it a few times and no matter what you do either the h-pawn or the King Rook is in the way of a knight. What I'm saying is Black has to play h6 to bring a Knight into h7 to be captured, but then how does the pawn on h7 promote on the g-file? It doesn't, and then there's no way to get into g8.
Also impossible, I think. There's no way for the b1-Bishop to be there.
I remember the third one. I remember it as an mate in 3. It looks like a mate in 2, but to gain the position you are on move No. 48 or No. 49 i think.
In your solution, its black to move at the end, but the puzzle requires White to move as a criteria.
This may be a possible solution to #122 - puzzle 2 :
Correct, puzzle 2# has been solved.
Also, the analysis provided by mashanator regarding puzzle 1# is true, but not quite complete as it does not explore all possibilities. Here's the full explanation: If white promoted a knight on h8, that means h6 must have been played. Now, there is no way to bring the knight to g8, because the only accessible square to it is f6, which would check the black king and force the capture of the knight.
The other possibility is that white already placed a knight on g8 prior to promoting, and then black played h6 and white captured a black knight on h7. But now, the pawn cannot promote as it is blocked by the black rook on h8.
Now only puzzle 3# left. It is harder and requiers more analysis. But doable if you like these things and invest the time to crack it
Oh right duh - the pawns on b3 and c4 got there via a2xb3xc4, move the bishop in then play b3. I'll get to it. This is going to be a long night.
I've given up. There's too many pieces in absurd positions to see what order to get them there in.
man, it looks like i need a teleportal to solve puzzle 3
will try it again later
Yes there are some problems with that one.
Enjoy the challenge
The first one is possible:
I was trying the third one but i couldn't get further than this can anyone say if i did something wrong
That's a good try andrew, you can also bring white's dark bishop to f4. But you are still missing a couple of things:
1) White needs to have a rook on g3.
2) Black's king must reach h1.
3) White's other rook must be on a3.
Good progress so far though.
I was stuck in the corner so i couldn't get anything passed it, that's why i wasn't able to complete the puzzle
almost got it!
Good job, however the last step of switching between the rooks positions is the hardest. Good luck.
While you're struggling with that, here's an easier position I newly composed. Hope you enjoy solving:
Can both sides castle?
Edit: Due to an oversight the following condition must also be met: White cannot promote on either g8 or h8 squares.
Yes, a knight can go to f8 blocking the check when the pawn promotes. Will post full line tomorrow
Hah, I know what you mean. I actually made a big mistake with this one, as I forgot the possibility of a kingside promotion.
I might fix it in the future, but until then I will add a new condition:
White cannot promote on either g8 or h8 squares.
Can chess players have bad days?
by RC-1140 a few minutes ago
How do I go about studying the middlegame
If you can change a chess rule or create a chess rule, what would it be ?
by RC-1140 2 minutes ago
Sad case of high school chess cheating
by RC-1140 3 minutes ago
by RC-1140 4 minutes ago
by RC-1140 5 minutes ago
by RC-1140 7 minutes ago
Essential Books for Beginners
Daeth Opining: The Future of Chess?
by RC-1140 8 minutes ago
Anand vs Carlsen: World Championship match thread
by RC-1140 12 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2013 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!