Forums

Game Theory and Chess

Sort:
CharlesConrad

So I was browsing through 'The Great Courses' at subjects they're giving away with nice discounted prices. I was briefly interested in a mathematics course, maybe something with calculus (something to broaden my math, which I am not good at at all). I stumbled across a course on 'Game Theory,' about rational thinking and decision making between actors. 

It's an economics term as well. 

But it applies well to board games, especially Chess. The study of how two players compete against each other. I wonder if purchasing this course would broaden my Chess horizons. In addition it got me to thinking when trying to adapt my playing ability should I learn to "play the man," like Harvey Spector says in Suits (instead of pure calculations) and learn how to beat human opponents or would it be more wise to learn to play to beat strong calculations, like a strong computer?

ivandh

The only relevant thing I can think of is that, in playing against a human, you want to create many different threats to increase the chance that they will miscalculate. The majority of game theory is designed to handle simple games of imperfect information but known values for each decision, whereas chess is exactly the opposite. The subfield that does focus on games like chess tends to rely on computers, since these games are highly combinatorial (i.e. too much to calculate by hand). So I'm not sure how any of this would reallymake your chess better.

In short, get whatever you're interested in.

ivandh

Agreed. While computers use algorithms (probably developed from game theory) to assign values, these are not perfect, and anyway you can't use a computer in an actual game. So your decision has to be based on more qualitative things such as, like I said, generating multiple threats which overwhelm your opponent's ability to calculate, or setting yourself up in a position where you will have many options (the forerunner of threats).