Forums

Tactics

Sort:
monkbilly

Everyone says that tactics are 99% of chess. I agree, but why are tactics so hard to learn. I understand that experienced players have seen many tactical motif's during their practices and games. However, I know I speak not only for myself but for others when I say this, doing tactical puzzles helps build one's tactical vision, but in the act of attempting a tactic, what should one look for?

easylimbo

undefended pieces, undefended king or the ability to break the defense of a king for material or checkmate, etc. tactics can easily be practiced by searching for a free tactics trainer online. once you do more it gets much simpler.

Yosriv

I am a beginner too, but I would like to add: FORCING MOVES! Always look for them. Especially forcing moves leading to forks, pins etc...or simply destroying the opponent's position, by leaving (for example) his King exposed.

Chesserroo2

I learn tactics easily, but I don't notice them consistantly. I learning more motifs is great for long chess, but for speed chess there just is not enough time to look for every possible motif. Practicing looking for them will sharpen your eye, but only to the types of positions in the problems. If the positions are not representative of your games, it might not help you.

I would really like for a computer to analyze all my games and make problems based off positions that actually occured, asking me how I can exploit a weakness or defend against a new hidden threat. I'm sure I could get at least 5 positions out of each of my games. Studying the mistakes of masters might help you eventually, but I think it is far better to study the mistakes you have made thus far.

Chess computers might tell you the mistake, but then you already know the answer. They need to give you a position to analyze, and even through in some equal positions where there is no material to take.