Forums

People on vacation

Sort:
PrincessJudy

Can anyone advise about how someone can go on vacation and stop progress in the tournament? One of the opponents in my group has gone on vacation. Time remaining still says 3 days even though the last move in the game by them was ages ago. I am in a winning position and once I win I will have the second highest points and the 1st round for my group will be complete.

I do not understand why this situation is allowed to occur. Shouldn't going on vacation automatically mean they withdraw from the tournament. This is my first time in a tournament so I do not know the etiquette. Surely one person can't just hold everyone else up??!!

silentfilmstar13
Don't worry, it's not just one person.  It's many people.  I have my group clinched, but we're waiting on a player to return from vacation.  No big deal.  Do something else.  I'd say that you should become a paid member of this wonderful site.  That way, you'll be able to join other tournaments while you wait for this traveller to return.
PrincessJudy
Thanks for your advice.
likesforests

> how someone can go on vacation and stop progress in the tournament? 

His vacation isn't holding up the whole tournament, because many games are not even half-way done yet. For example, look at group #38.

RedDalek
I have a similiar problem with my tournament. One player went on "vacation" almost a month ago. Strange thing is, he logs in every few days. Another strange thing, in most of his games he has less then two hours to make a move......... Tongue out
sodada

Imagine a tournament in real life where one day black side of the board is empty. Kramnik asks the judge: "Where is Topalov?" The judge replies: "He went to somewhere sunny and warm with a late plane last night."

TheOldReb