How To Watch Nepomniachtchi vs Aronian Speed Chess Champs Today

How To Watch Nepomniachtchi vs Aronian Speed Chess Champs Today

pete
pete
Aug 23, 2017, 12:00 AM |
9 | Chess Players

The Chess.com Speed Chess Championship resumes today with a battle of two closely-matched super-GMs: Ian Nepomniachtchi vs Levon Aronian. 

Nepomniachtchi is technically the higher seed, starting the Speed Chess Championship with a better blitz rating. But that was before Aronian surged nearly 70 points to number-three in the world. 

Aronian is playing the best blitz of his career, fresh off a win in St. Louis, but he will have to deal with a younger opponent eager to notch his first Speed Chess victory on Chess.com. 

Follow the action live at Chess.com/TV and Twitch.tv/chess today at 10 a.m. Pacific time (1 p.m. EDT, 5 p.m. GMT, 6 p.m. BST)

null

The following viewing options will be available:

  • Twitch.tv/chess: the official broadcast with IM Daniel Rensch and IM Anna Rudolf (English) -- watch here to see the Twitch chat.
  • Chess.com/TV: watch here to see the Chess.com chat. 

null

Want to see Nepomniachtchi and Aronian's most brilliant chess tactics?

FM Mike Klein is your guide in this must-watch video on the two grandmasters' career highlights. The video is free for all members.

More Speed Chess Championship:


After today, the Speed Chess Championship resumes tomorrow, Aug. 24 with the American number-one Fabiano Caruana vs the top woman in the world, Hou Yifan.  

null

The Fabiano Caruana vs Hou Yifan match begins at the special time of 3 p.m. Pacific on Aug. 24. 

Plan ahead with the full Speed Chess schedule here. 

More from pete
5 Reasons To Watch The PRO Chess League Live Finals This Weekend

5 Reasons To Watch The PRO Chess League Live Finals This Weekend

7 Ways Fortnite Is Like Chess

7 Ways Fortnite Is Like Chess