How To Watch So vs Giri Today: Speed Chess Champs

How To Watch So vs Giri Today: Speed Chess Champs

pete
pete
May 25, 2017, 12:00 AM |
24 | Chess Players

The top chess player in the United States will be in action today on Chess.com as Wesley So battles the Dutch number-one Anish Giri in the first round of the 2017 Speed Chess Championship, the strongest tournament ever held online.

Could you be watching the future world chess champion? It's possible that either So or Giri could one day challenge Magnus Carlsen for the title. The winner of the match will almost certainly face the world champion soon, assuming Carlsen advances in the bracket past the qualifier GM Gadir Guseinov. 

Follow the action live at Chess.com/TV and Twitch.tv/chess today at 10 a.m. Pacific time (1 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. GMT)

null

Click here to find 10 a.m PDT in your own timezone.

The following viewing options will be available:

  • Twitch.tv/chess: the official broadcast with IM Daniel Rensch and IM Aman Hambleton (English) -- watch here to see the Twitch chat.
  • Chess.com/TV: watch here to see the Chess.com chat. (And maybe catch Hikaru Nakamura's opinions about cheese.)

null

What to do before the match starts?


After today, the Speed Chess Championship resumes in the summer with the chess prodigy Richard Rapport vs Alexander Grischuk on July 20, and then a dog-days doubleheader you won't want to miss: Ian Nepomniachtchi vs Levon Aronian on Aug. 23, and Fabiano Caruana vs Hou Yifan on Aug. 24

Plan ahead with the full schedule here. 

More from pete
How To Watch The Speed Chess Knockout Qualifier

How To Watch The Speed Chess Knockout Qualifier

Yanny vs Laurel: Settle The Dispute On The Chessboard

Yanny vs Laurel: Settle The Dispute On The Chessboard