Pandolfini's Puzzler #10 - E for Excellent

Pandolfini's Puzzler #10 - E for Excellent

brucepandolfini
NM brucepandolfini
Oct 4, 2013, 12:00 AM |
9 | Scholastics

“You’re doing very well,” Professor Pando said to Lucian. “Come grading time, I may even give you an E for excellent!”
---
“But first you must “play detective.” Consider the following position, with the pieces outlining a capital E, which is the letter in question. Oh, by the way, Black has just made a move.”
---
---
White to move
---
Question: “How can White checkmate at once, in one move?” 
---
“Of course,” said Lucian, “Black must have made a move to get here. Wait. I know what you’re getting at. I have the answer, and I don’t have to violate any rules. I even know Black’s last move.” 
---
What rule and move made Lucian laugh?
---
Answer below - Try to solve ProfessorPando's Puzzle first!
---
ANSWER #10
---
Lucian deduced that Black had just played 1…b7-b5. That allows White to counter with 2. c5xb6 mate! – using the en passant rule.
---
---
Take note
---
When focused on a strange looking problem, a good question to ask is “How do I think this position came about?” In other words, you should “play detective,” trying to think backward for a bit. That is, trying to think retroactively.



RELATED STUDY MATERIAL

- Watch PinkHamster's crazy video where you must use en passant to checkmate;

- Watch his other video on the history and specifics of the rule;

- Don't crash and burn - GraceLady tells you exactly when to use the special move.

More from NM brucepandolfini
Do Chess Players Cheat?

Do Chess Players Cheat?

Opening Or Endgame? You Decide

Opening Or Endgame? You Decide