Speed Chess Championship Invitational

Speed Chess Championship Invitational

| 57 | Other

The Speed Chess Championship Invitational is a 16-player knockout tournament from which the winner will qualify for the 2020 Speed Chess Championship Main Event. It will be held Sunday, October 25, 2020 and has a $8,000 prize fund.

How to watch?
Tune in at on Sunday, October 25 at 9:00 Pacific / 17:00 Central Europe for commentary by GM Robert Hess and IM Danny Rensch.


The Speed Chess Championship Invitational is a 16-player knockout tournament. In the preliminary, quarterfinal, and semifinal rounds they will play two 5+1 games, four 3+1 games, and eight 1+1 games. In the final, the players will play three 5+1 games, five 3+1 games, and 10 1+1 games. 

All matches will run simultaneously with each time control starting for all games at the same time. Once a player has clinched the win, the match will conclude.

If a match is tied after the last 1+1 bullet game, a tiebreak of four additional 1+1 games is played as a mini-match. If the match is still tied after the mini-match tiebreaker, a single armageddon game will be played: White 5+0, Black 3+0, Black gets draw odds. The player with the highest blitz rating at the start of the armageddon chooses their color.


The total prize fund is $8,000 with $1,500 going to the winner, who also qualifies for the 2020 Speed Chess Championship.

Who will play?

The invited participants have all played in many of the Speed Chess Grand Prix tournaments but either narrowly missed out on qualification or received a wildcard invite from

Speed Chess Invitational | Participants

# Fed Name Username FIDE Blitz
1 Jan-Krzystof Duda @Polish_fighter3000 2799
2 Dmitry Andreikin @fairchess_on_youtube 2782
3 Sergey Karjakin @SergeyKarjakin 2765
4 Alexander Grischuk @Grischuk 2765
5 Peter Svidler @PSvidler 2754
6 Baadur Jobava @exoticprincess 2748
7 Vidit Gujrathi @vidityt 2735
8 Jeffery Xiong @jefferyx 2724
9 Oleksandr Bortnyk @Oleksandr_Bortnyk 2723
10 Daniil Dubov @Duhless 2722
11 Maxim Chigaev @Fandorine 2646
12 Grigoriy Oparin @OparinGrigoriy 2628
13 David Anton @tptagain 2622
14 Daniel Naroditksy @DanielNaroditsky 2608
15 Eric Hansen @erichansen 2568
16 Le Tuan Minh @wonderfultime 2408

What's at stake?

Besides the $1,500 first prize, the players will be fighting for a spot in the prestigious Speed Chess Championship Main Event,'s flagship event that will run once again this year with world-class players fighting for a $100,000 prize fund. The 2020 Speed Chess Championship will run November 1st -December 13.

Earlier, GM Nihal Sarin (@nihalsarin) qualified for the Main Event as the winner of the Junior Speed Chess Championship. Also, GM Vladimir Fedoseev (@Bigfish1995) qualified as the runner-up of the Super Swiss. The Russian GM finished behind GM Hikaru Nakamura (@Hikaru), who is seeded into the Speed Chess Championship as last year's winner.

Four more players have qualified via the Speed Chess Grand Prix: GMs Vladislav Artemiev (@Sibelephant), Nodirbek Abdusattorov (@ChessWarrior7197), Parham Maghsoodloo (@Parhamov), and Haik Martirosyan (@Micki-taryan).

More from CHESScom
Variants Community Series Results 2023

Variants Community Series Results 2023

Chess Played Quick - Spell Chess Edition: All The Information

Chess Played Quick - Spell Chess Edition: All The Information