• Last updated on 1/10/15, 5:41 PM.

  • Send to friend
  • | 2243 reads

Castling is the only time in the game when more than one piece may be moved during a turn.  Castling can only occur if there are no pieces standing between the king and the rook.  Neither king nor rook may have moved from its original position.  There can be no opposing piece that could possible capture the king in his original square (you cannot castle while you are in check), the square he moves through, or the square that he ends the turn (you cannot castle into check).  Castling was invented around the 1500s to speed up the game.  In 1561, a book by Ruy Lopez published in Spain mentioned that castling took two moves.  You had to play the rook to king’s bishop one square on one move, then the king to king’s knight one on the next move.  At the time, castling seem to be in one move in Italy and France.  Up until the mid 19th century, some rules of chess allowed you to castle, followed by moving the h pawn to h3 (pawn to king’s rook three).   The verb castle (to castle) first appeared in a book by Beale in 1656.  Earlier words for castling included exchange, change, leap, or shift.  The record for the latest castling seems to be on move 48.

In this diagram, white castles on kingside while black castles on queenside

When there are pieces between the king and the rook, the player cannot castle, as shown in this diagram:

Also, when the king is in check or the path is under attack, castling cannot be done, as in the following situation:


  • 9 years ago · Quote · #1


    Interesting history.Smile

    People around here really know how to write articles!

  • 8 years ago · Quote · #2


    yep  nice fact at the end =]

  • 8 years ago · Quote · #3


    It is always important to castle or use boungcloud(or move to f1 or f8 in rare cases).

  • 8 years ago · Quote · #4



  • 8 years ago · Quote · #5



  • 8 years ago · Quote · #6



  • 7 years ago · Quote · #7


    How do I do this during a game with live chess?

  • 7 years ago · Quote · #8


    I normally use this as an offensive move...very fun.Tongue out

  • 7 years ago · Quote · #9


    You can still castle in 2 moves, it's called castling by hand.

  • 7 years ago · Quote · #10


    what are the keystrokes or drop and drag required to castle?   I have not been able to figure this out?

  • 7 years ago · Quote · #11


    just move ur king 2 spaces towards the rook and it should automatically castle. well thats what ive been doing anyway

  • 6 years ago · Quote · #12


    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!! finally found how to castle in live chess.

  • 6 years ago · Quote · #13


    I always castle on by clicking on the king, then the rook. Sometimes, during Chess960 with a king on d1 for example (so the king would move only 1 square for a queenside castle), it is the only way to initiate it.

    Funny little detail about FIDE's rules is that the latest addition dictates that the rook and king have to be on the same rank. This would seem obvious and logical, but the dutchman Tim Krabbe found a loophole in the old ruling, and made an interesting chess puzzle where the solution was to underpromote a pawn on the e-file to a rook, and then castle "vertically", which would be legal since the new rook hasn't moved yet.

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #14


    Is it possible for someone to castle when their opponent's bishop is controlling one of the spaces in between where the rook and king would castle?

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #15


    The square the king starts on, moves through, and ends on, must not be under attack. This only applies to the *king's* squares, not the rook's. So to answer your question: yes. White may castle queenside if a1 and/or b1 is under attack. But c1, d1 and e1 must *not* be under attack.
  • 5 years ago · Quote · #16


    Thank you for your assistance! I'm still learning, and appreciate the information! Take care!

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #17


    thanks for the info....

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #18


    Does anybody have a record of the game referred to above, when castling was on move 48?  That would be interesting to see.....

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #19


    Seems like I read somewhere that you can not castle if your king had been previously checked. But I was able to castle in a game just now after a previous check. So, not true then?

  • 5 years ago · Quote · #20


    how do you mKE IT TO CASTLING?? 

Back to Top

Post your reply: