2018 World Online 4 Player Chess Teams Championship! (INFORMATION)

e4bc4qh5qf7

Hi all,

The World 4 Player Chess Championship is happening soon!!!

*********(ROUND 2 WILL BE EXTENDED TO SUNDAY, DECEMBER 23, 2018)**********

The following Brackets are in place already:

#8 a1t19 + Omi Kiss vs #9 Gremu + hamada_2000 (Confirmed: Wednesday, December 5, 8:30 PM GMT/2:30 PM CST)

#7 OnlyGMbeatme + 4pcChessGuru, Won 3-0 vs #10 GustavKlimtPaints + vrdtmr

(Played Saturday, December 1, 11am CST)

#11 Kujtimi + lebgdu92, Won 3-0 vs #6 Michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7

(Played Sunday, December 2pm CST)

#5 ClashRoyale12345 + Malaviya86 vs #12 Liquid-sun + tommerrall949 (CONFIRMED: Thursday, December 6, 11 PM GMT/5 PM CST)

#4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun, Won 3-0 vs #13 NedPencil and TeamsterZizo (Played Monday, December 3, 13:30 PM CST/19:30 PM GMT)

#3 Rezacz + Wraku89 vs #14 TBD + TBD (CONFIRMED: Tuesday, December 4, 1:00 PM CST/7:00 PM GMT)

#2 Nutsyci + Abhinavmartha123 vs #15 Superatos and GDII (CONFIRMED: Thursday, December 6, 4:30 PM GMT/10:30 AM CST)

#1 Valger + Oleg_Barantsev vs #16 TBD +TBD (CONFIRMED: Friday, December 7, 4:30 PM CST/10:30 PM GMT)

For any suggestions, please go to the DISCUSSION page:

https://www.chess.com/clubs/forum/view/world-4-player-chess-championship

For the Handbook/Guidelines, click the following document:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1I-Q6vCIF2VnzFFWkA40nnffQ3hyS_xuxnqNPrX04BYo/edit

BabYagun

Round 1:

December 1: #7 OnlyGMbeatme + 4pcChessGuru, Won 3-0 vs #10 GustavKlimtPaints + vrdtmr

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=538657-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=538698-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=538810-1

December 2: #11 Kujtimi + lebgdu92, Won 3-0 vs #6 Michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=544468-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=544582-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=544633-1

December 3: #4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun, Won 3-0 vs #13 NedPencil and TeamsterZizo

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=549912-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=549932-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=549979-1

December 4: #3 Rezacz + Wraku89, Won 3-0 vs #14 vitoria-gasteiz + 7R0N1C

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=555278-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=555353-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=555393-1

December 5: #8 a1t19 + Omi Kiss, Won 3-0 vs #9 Gremu + hamada_2000

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=561213-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=561265-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=561390-1

December 6: #2 Nutsyci + Abhinavmartha123, Won 3-0 vs #15 Superatos and GDII

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=565187-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=565239-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=565359-1

December 6: #5 ClashRoyale12345 + Malaviya86, Won 3-0 vs #12 Liquid-sun + tommerrall949

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=567205-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=567284-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=567327-1

December 7: #1 Valger + Oleg_Barantsev, Won 3-0 vs #16 karem2 + strong-lightsaber

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=572772-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=572843-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=572877-1

 

BabYagun

Luke FourPlayerChess YouTube channel with some of the championship games:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCBm2hQ7QND072su39pjcDQ

BabYagun

NedPencil and TeamsterZizo's Twitch Channel with some games:

https://www.twitch.tv/theteamsters

BabYagun

@nutsyci's channel:

Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL32HjsbTUAD-F3_KhzYosufSl9zhmPx5s

#8 a1t19 + Omi Kiss, Won 3-0 vs #9 Gremu + hamada_2000
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcxO90TlcXQ&feature=youtu.be

#2 Nutsyci + Abhinavmartha123 vs #15 Superatos and GDII

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umZf5WOg0-Y&feature=youtu.be

 

e4bc4qh5qf7

NEXT ROUND (December 8-22):

#4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun, Won 3-2 vs #5 ClashRoyale12345 + MALAVIYA86 (Played Saturday December 8, 2018 12:00 CST/18:00 GMT)

#3 FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89, Won 3-1 vs #11 Kujtimi + Lebgdu92 (Played Tuesday December 11, 2018 14:00 CST/20:00 GMT

#2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123, Won 3-1 vs #8 a1t19 + Omi-Kiss (Played Sunday, December 16, 9:00 CST/15:00 GMT)

#9 gremu + hamada_2000, Won 3-0 vs #16 strong-lightsaber + x-gannicus-x/fischer_tanvir (Played Friday, December 14, 17:30 GMT/11:30 CST)

#15 Superatos + GDII, Won 3-0 vs #10 GustavKlimtPaints + vrdtmr (Played Sunday, December 16, 2018 21:00 GMT/15:00 CST)

#6 michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7, Won 3-1 vs #14 vitoria-gasteiz + 7R0N1C (Played 22:00 GMT/16:00 CST Wednesday, December 19, 2018)

#12 liquid-sun + tommerrall949, auto-advance 3-0 vs #13 NedPencil + TeamsterZizo (Forfeit)

#1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev vs #7 onlyGMbeatme + 4pcChessGuru (Played Sunday, December 23, 2018 17:00 GMT/11:00 CST)

BabYagun

A life lesson in the championship round 1 (by @liquid-sun): https://www.chess.com/clubs/forum/view/a-life-lesson-in-the-championship-round-1

BabYagun

Round 2:

December 8: #4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun, Won 3-2 vs #5 ClashRoyale12345 + MALAVIYA86

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=576622-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=576674-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=576733-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=576800-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=576881-1

December 11: #3 FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89, Won 3-1 vs #11 Kujtimi + Lebgdu92

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=593514-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=593650-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=593747-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=593904-1

December 14: #9 gremu + hamada_2000, Won 3-0 vs #16 strong-lightsaber + [x-Gannicus-x, then fischer_tanvir]

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=610090-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=610254-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=610382-1

December 16: #2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123, Won 3-1 vs #8 a1t19 + Omi-Kiss

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=620128-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=620165-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=620237-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=620320-1

 

BabYagun

December 16: #15 Superatos + GDII, Won 3-0 vs #10 GustavKlimtPaints + vrdtmr

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=621927-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=621995-1

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=622154-1

December 19: #6 michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7, Won 3-1 vs #14 vitoria-gasteiz + 7R0N1C

December 23: #1 Valger + Oleg_Barantsev, Won 3-0 vs #7 onlyGMbeatme + 4pcChessGuru

https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=658008
https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=658078
https://www.chess.com/4-player-chess?g=658173

December 25: #3 FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89, Won 3-1 vs #2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123

December 27: #1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev, Won 3-0 vs #4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun

December 29: #15 Superatos + GDII, Won 3-2 vs #8 a1t19 + Omi-Kiss

 

e4bc4qh5qf7

NEXT ROUND (December 24-31):

WINNERS BRACKETS (The following will take a one-week break between January 1 and January 7***) 

#3 FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89 Won 3-1, vs #2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123 (Played Tuesday December 25, 2018 11:00 CST/17:00 GMT)

#1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev, Won 3-0 vs. #4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun (Played Thursday, December 27, 2018 21:30 GMT/15:30 CST)

ONE-LOSS BRACKETS (Winners will play between January 1 and January 7***: 8/15 vs 6/5; 11/12v13 vs 9)

#15 Superatos + GDII, Won 3-2 vs #8 a1t19 + Omi-Kiss (Played Saturday, December 29, 2018, 19:00 GMT/13:00 CST)

#9 gremu + hamada_2000, auto-advance* vs #7 onlyGMbeatme + 4pcChessGuru (Forfeit due to closure of onlyGMbeatme, the Elite competitor.)

Jan 7-13:

#6 michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7 auto-advance 3-2 vs. 5 ClashRoyale12345 + MALAVIYA86 , (Played: Saturday 23:30 CST/Sunday 5:30 GMT; Postponed to Sunday 23:30 CST/Monday 5:30 GMT due to server issues while ClashRoyale12345 + MALAVIYA86 were leading 2-0; ClashRoyale12345 and Malaviya86 forfeit due to an Elite no-show during the agreed upon postponed match.)

#12 liquid-sun + tommerrall949, Won 3-2 vs. #11 Kujtimi + Lebgdu92 vs.  (#13 NedPencil + TeamsterZizo announce forfeiture) (Played 19:00 GMT/13:00 CST Wednesday January 9, 2018)

 

Round 3b (Jaunary 12-18):

#12 liquid-sun + tommerrall949, Won 3-1 vs #9 gremu + Persian_Elsa (hamada_2000, gremu’s original partner, withdrew from the tournament) (Played Wednesday, January 16, 2019 19:30 GMT/13:30 CST)

#15 Superatos + GDII vs. #6 michaela_ruth + e4bc4qh5qf7. (CONFIRMED: Friday January 18, 2019 19:00 GMT/ 13:00 CST).

e4bc4qh5qf7

Remaining Teams.

Round 4 (January 19-February 2):

Winner's Bracket (4a)

#3 FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89, Won 3-1 vs #1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev vs  (Played: 17:00 GMT Sunday, January 27, 2019)

Elimination Matches Round 4a (January 19-25)

#2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123, won 3-1 vs #12 liquid-sun + tommerrall949 (Played: 16:30 GMT Saturday, January 19th)

#15 Superatos + GDII, Won 3-2 vs #4 Xarisole1994 + BabYagun (Played: 21:30 GMT Tuesday, January 22, 2019)

January 28 (tentative):

#2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123, Won 3-2 vs. #15 Superatos + GDII (Played: 14:30 GMT/8:30 CST Monday, January 28, 2019)

Semi-Final (January 29-February 5):

#1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev, Won 3-2 vs #2 nutsyci + abhinavmartha123 (Played: February 10th 17 GMT)

e4bc4qh5qf7

February 17-March 3: Championship Final (12 game match)

#3 FM rezacz + GM Wraku89 vs #1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev

Week 1 (Games 1-6): Starts Sunday, February 17th at 11:00 CST/ 17:00 UTC (GM Valger + Oleg Barantsev took the lead, 4-2)

Week 2a (Games 7-8): Starts Sunday, February 24th at 13:00 CST/19:00 UTC (GM Valger + Oleg Barantsev maintained the lead, 5-3)

Week 2b (Games 9-10): Starts Monday, February 25th at 13:00 CST/19:00 UTC (FM Rezacz + GM Wraku89 came back to tie it, 5-5)

Week 2c (Games 11-12, guaranteed): Starts Saturday, March 2nd at 13:00 CST/19:00 UTC (CONFIRMED)

Week 3 (IF NEEDED, only if a 1-1 result occurs on March 2nd; Tiebreak games 13-17): Starts Sunday, March 3rd at 12:00 CST / 18:00 UTC (CONFIRMED)

Tiebreak info:

BabYagun

Final: #3 FM rezacz + GM Wraku89 vs #1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev

After 8 games the score is 3:5.

Games 9-10 will be played today (Monday, February 25th) at 13:00 CST / 19:00 GMT.

BabYagun

Final: #3 FM rezacz + GM Wraku89 vs #1 GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev

After 10 games the score is 5:5.

Games 11-12 will be played somewhere between February 26th and March 3rd.

BabYagun

GM Valger + Oleg_Barantsev won the 1st World 4PC Team Championship.

(7:5 vs FM rezacz + GM Wraku89)

Congratulations to the victors of the first ever 4PC Team tournament! We would like to thank everyone who participated, from the champions and their worthy opponents to our wonderful spectators. Thanks to our finalists for showing us such inspiring games. It has been a pleasure to witness such great players at work, and an honour for chess.com to host this event.

A special thank you to our streamers for providing entertaining coverage of the championship.

e4bc4qh5qf7

FINAL RANKINGS:

To all 35 players who participated, I want to thank you again for a successful First World 4 Player Chess Championship.

Thank you admins and @reexamine for refereeing and our streamers and @nutsyci for covering the Finals.

Valger, Oleg_Barantsev, ClashRoyale12345, and MALAVIYA86 will are automatically admitted into the next championship and Oleg_Barantsev is welcomed as a Premium Member of chess.com after this tournament.

A couple of months later, I have the finally put together the details of the final rankings. We are hoping to publish these to Wikipedia soon, with details of some names and country flags of competitors.

16th-13th (Eliminated Round 2):

16. strong-lightsaber (partners: karem2 (3 games), x-gannicus-x (2 games), fischer_tanvir (1 game) Record: 0-6 (Eliminated by gremu and hamada_2000, ranked 7th overall)

15. NedPencil (partner: TeamsterZizo) Record: 0-6 (Eliminated by liquid-sun and tommerrall949, ranked 5th overall)

14. GustavKlimtPaints (partner: vrdtmr) Record: 0-6 (Eliminated by Superatos and GDII, ranked 4th overall)

13. vitoria-gasteiz (partner: 7R0N1C) Record: 1-6

12th-9th (Eliminated Round 3a):

12. OnlyGMbeatme (partner: 4pcChessGuru) Record: 3-6

11. Kujtimi (partner: lebgdu92) Record: 6-6 (Eliminated by liquid-sun and tommerrall949, ranked 5th overall)

10. a1t19 (partner: Omi-Kiss) Record: 6-6 (Eliminated by Superatos and GDII, ranked 4th overall)

9. ClashRoyale12345 (partner: MALAVIYA86) Record: 7-6

8th-7th (Eliminated Round 3b):

8. michaela_ruth (partner: e4bc4qh5qf7) Record: 6-9

7. gremu (partner: hamada_2000 (9 games) Persian_Elsa (4 games)) Record: 7-6

6th-5th (Eliminated Round 4a):

6. Xarisole1994 (partner: BabYagun) Record: 8-8

5. liquid-sun (partner: tommerrall949) Record: 10-9

4th (Eliminated Round 4b):

4. Superatos (partner: GDII) Record: 14-10

3rd (Eliminated in the Semi-Final):

3. Nutsyci (partner: abhinavmartha123) Record: 15-10

RUNNER UP FINALISTS:

2. FM Wojciech Reza, rezacz (partner: GM Tomasz Warakomski, Wraku89) Record: 17-10

FIRST WORLD 4PC TEAMS CHAMPIONS:

1. GM Dmitry Kononenko, valger (partner: Oleg_Barantsev) Record: 20-10

This forum topic has been locked