Casteling puzzle

Sort:
Avatar of Monoceros

Today I found out that I did not understand the castling rules perfectly as I made this assigment wrongly.

First a refreshment of the rules, you may not castle when:
1. You already have moved your rook. (you may castle with your other rook, if that one has not moved)
2. You already have moved your king.
3. If there is any piece between the rook and the king.
4. If you are in check.
5. If you are after casteling in check.
6. If the king goes over a field where it would be checked.

If someone does not understand one of these rule and want an example please ask and and I'll provide one.

The question now are may black castle short and may black castle long:

Avatar of LadyLuck49

Black K can't castle, he would be in check either way

Avatar of Monoceros

Is black really in check either way?

Avatar of LadyLuck49

Definately on the K's side but not sure on the Q's side

Avatar of Monoceros

The king is not in check after casteling on the king side. But indeed the king can not castle on the king side because of another rule.

What about the queen side, is queen side casteling forbidden because of the same rule?

Avatar of Monoceros

Anyone else has wants to try? Going to post the answer within 3 days Smile.

Avatar of Monoceros

Ok the answer. Black cant castle O-O because of rule 6.

The king can castle O-O-O. Rule 6 does not stop from casteling because the king does not go over a field where it is in check. The horse only controls b8 between the rook and the king and the king moves to c8. The rook goes over a field attacked by the knight but that is no problem.

Avatar of Guest4303436569
Please Sign Up to comment.

If you need help, please contact our Help and Support team.