I dunno
OTB Blitz - No Insufficient Material?
Either you are misunderstanding or you have an incompetent tournament director. The rule about insufficient material has nothing to do with the clock.
However, there is a rule about “insufficient losing chances” which is different. In the days of analog clocks, this rule was an important one. A player with very little time left, but a position so easy to defend that a C Player, given sufficient time, could hold the position against a master, could claim a draw. The TD would then be forced to rule on the merits of the claim.
As clocks with time delay became the norm, this old rule became obsolete.
It is likely you are hearing “insufficient material” when the TD is describing “insufficient losing chances”.
Probably they announced something about claims of "insufficient losing chances" not being allowed in blitz tournaments. USCF Blitz rule 8d and the TD Tip that follows are relevant.
The messy situation of someone trying to win with R+K vs R+K is covered by that TD Tip. Most OTB blitz tournaments use a small increment to avoid such complications.
Hi,
I’ve participated in a few OTB blitz tournaments recently and have remained confused about a certain rule. For the tournaments I have played with the time control( G/5 w. D/0) it was announced before the games that “insufficient material would not apply” due to “there being no delay.” Therefore, is it perfectly fine to attempt to flag someone with Bishop and king vs. sole king? Why is this a rule? Am I misunderstanding?
Thanks.
Its different. The insufficient losing chances claim is for a drawn position but no clear way to force a draw. for example, if mate cannot occur(your bish king example) then it will be a draw. however, if it was like a queenvsqueen endgame, in a classical game you can claim a draw if your opponent doesnt agree to one, but in your case, i think what the td is saying that rule does not apply
Hi,
I’ve participated in a few OTB blitz tournaments recently and have remained confused about a certain rule. For the tournaments I have played with the time control( G/5 w. D/0) it was announced before the games that “insufficient material would not apply” due to “there being no delay.” Therefore, is it perfectly fine to attempt to flag someone with Bishop and king vs. sole king? Why is this a rule? Am I misunderstanding?
Thanks.