Forums

Books for 1200-1500 players

Sort:
Twinchicky

Hello,

I'm a beginner, and I really am looking for some good instructional books to boost my rating a little. As I don't have an official rating, I can only estimate my own strength at somewhere between 1200 and 1500 at long time controls. I feel strategy is probably my strong point, and calculation my weakest point. My positional play is mediocre.

Anyways, I have bought a few books, but I'm finding that most that I'm trying to work through are way over my head. I've tried Aagard's Grandmaster Preparation: Calculation, and that wasn't even funny. I could solve maybe one out of every eight problems in there. I also have the second volume of Build Up your Chess by Yusupov (Supposedly aimed at ~1500 players), and that worked out a good bit better than Calculation, but I still think it's too much. Attack with Mikhail Tal, by Tal & Iakov Damsky, is one that I actually enjoy reading, and has good information that I can understand.

The one workbook-type book that I have been able to get through is Vol. 1 of Yusupov's Build Up your Chess, and I've been making it through that actually relatively quickly.

Any other ideas on books for beginners like me?

Bronco

Here is a recommended book list put together by NM Dan Heisman . http://danheisman.home.comcast.net/~danheisman/Events_Books/General_Book_Guide.htm

Martin_Stahl
Twinchicky wrote:

Hello,

I'm a beginner, and I really am looking for some good instructional books to boost my rating a little. As I don't have an official rating, I can only estimate my own strength at somewhere between 1200 and 1500 at long time controls. I feel strategy is probably my strong point, and calculation my weakest point. My positional play is mediocre.