Forums

Najdorf Poisoned Pawn Move after Qb6?

Sort:
Kernicterus

Prawn...lovely as it is, I'm not going to be playing it as Black.  I need White wins.  lol

mateologist

you said, you do not want avoid it but yet you do not want to study the lines against it! you just want to understand why white sacs the pawn! makes no sense to me but i will give it another shot! white sacs the pawn because the "dynamics" in the position favor him! black must survive the "attack" that is sure to follow.( i am no expert but current theory says that he "can")

Kernicterus

The 8.a3 line worked on a 1770 player.  He made a sad face, but not before nabbing my rook. 

dhananjaygodse

But people tell me one thing is b3 a good option?

TwoMove

It's in that 10e5 line, nearly fourty years after Fischer game, that top players have recently started finding new ideas. For a short period of time, posioned pawn even looked busted.

NimzoRoy

If you don't want to play the PP variation there's plenty of other solid lines available, so I don't see a problem here.  I recently read but can't remember where the Najdorf PP is practically a forced draw nowadays if both players (or just White?) know a lot of the theory behind it.

Database:  Master Games        
movegameswhite wins / draw / black wins
7...Be7 2,168
45.3% 22.1% 32.5%
7...Qb6 1,814
37.4% 26.4% 36.3%
7...Nbd7 836
44.1% 23.1% 32.8%
7...Qc7 714
32.6% 27.6% 39.8%
7...b5 479
45.5% 18.6% 35.9%
7...h6 275
42.2% 22.9% 34.9%
7...Nc6 225
35.6% 25.8% 38.7%
7...Bd7 80
36.3% 28.8% 35%
7...Qa5 5
80% 20%
mwicDallas
dhananjaygodse wrote:

But people tell me one thing is b3 a good option?