Forums

Scandinavian 1)e4 d5 2)e5

Sort:
Eric_Cantona

Instead of playing the usual 2)exd5, White tries e5. What, in your opinion, is the best reponse for Black? Is d4 then c5 ok?

DonnieDarko1980

As a Scandinavian player, I get this quite often and always play 2. ... c5. Depending on how White continues, I then either play e6 to transpose into a French, which is my second main answer to 1. e4, or Bf5 first to reach an improved French-like position with the bishop out.

I haven't tried 2. ... d4, but I'd guess it's not that great since it seems to weaken the center.

ozzie_c_cobblepot
The Caro-Kann player in me wants to play ...Bf5, but the really greedy Caro-Kann player in me wants to play ...Bg4 in one move after Nf3.
thelandlesslabourer

I have been playing Scandinavian for around 4 years in tournament levels. Against 2. e5, I play 2... Bf5 3. d4 e6 4. Nf3 c5 5. c3 transposing into French Defense with good Light Squared bishop for black.

Generally, 2. e5 is not played by anyone > 1600 FIDE rating in serious tournament play. 

DrSpudnik

2...c5

rocketbrainsurgeon

White gets an easy space advantage against the Scandinavian with exd5 - Nc3 - d4, so I don't know why you'd avoid it.  As a former scandi player, I can easily say e5 was welcome: you get a french defense with all the benefits and none of the drawbacks.

Eric_Cantona
rocketbrainsurgeon wrote:

White gets an easy space advantage against the Scandinavian with exd5 - Nc3 - d4, so I don't know why you'd avoid it.  As a former scandi player, I can easily say e5 was welcome: you get a french defense with all the benefits and none of the drawbacks.

LOL, im playing Black, not White ;) But anyway thanks for the comment.

NimzoRoy

2...Bf5 soon followed by ...e6 with a "good" FD Bishop IMHO, believe it or not I typed this before checking out chess.com's Game Explorer 

Database: Master GamesMy Chess GamesOther Players Games      
movegameswhite wins / draw / black wins
2...c5 37
18.9% 35.1% 45.9%
2...e6 21