Mega-dog round-1 game (rychessmaster1 - McGoohan)

Sort:
Avatar of vickalan

15.Qxe6...dxe6
16.Be4...Ncd6

Avatar of vickalan

McGoohan calls for vacation...Just as a reminder, vacation time for this tournament allows 14 extra days to play a move. Vacation is refreshed every 40 moves. (post #65 at the tournament thread).

Avatar of vickalan

17.Gh3

Avatar of greypenguin

Wow!

Avatar of vickalan

Ry offers a draw.

Note: a player cannot offer a draw which also allows the opponent to advance, because that is using an incentive to accepting the draw. If McGoohan accepts the draw, then the contest is decided by playing again.

Avatar of vickalan

Also, Ry cannot issue a time-warning because McGoohan called for vacation, and he is within his vacation time. McGoohan has 14 extra days to play his move (after Ry's last move which was 3 days ago).

Avatar of vickalan

And, I hope you don't retire from bulldog chess.😥😰😥😰😥😰

Avatar of Tja_05

rychessmaster1 wrote:

If he agrees to the draw, I’m not going to move in the rematch

You could just resign....

Avatar of greypenguin

but do u want to quit bulldog chess is da BBIIGG question

Avatar of Tja_05

rychessmaster1 wrote:

I don’t want to lose the points

Well a draw also makes you lose points. Also, you can win back the points.

Avatar of Tja_05

rychessmaster1 wrote:

No, I’m only retiring. I’ll likely be back

You were saying?

Avatar of Tja_05

If you retire temporarily, you can win back the points when you come back.

Avatar of Tja_05

If you retire permanently, you won't care about the points.

Avatar of McGoohan

NxB

Avatar of McGoohan
rychessmaster1 wrote:
You waited as long as you could have and you know it

Ry, I didn't wait as long as I could, I would have had two more days. But I wanted to take a break this week and continue playing on the weekend, just like I did my move against auk today. Sorry, my life isn't just chess!

Avatar of McGoohan
rychessmaster1 wrote:
dxe4

Okay, then the red pawn is now on e4 and therefore b1 is no longer protected by d2.

Avatar of McGoohan

Qxb2

Avatar of vickalan

17.Gh3...Nxe4
18.dxe4...Qxb2

Avatar of McGoohan

24 hours warning.

Avatar of McGoohan

I am not quite sure whether it is permissible to answer a Time Warning with Vacation time.

Correspondence Variant Chess Rules:

"If your opponent has not announced his move within the three day limit, request a reply. If a legal move is not announced within one extra day (24 hours), your opponent is a "no show" and he/she has forfeited the game. You record the game as a win."

This rule explicitly states that after a "time warning" a move must be made within 24 hours. In this rule, nothing is said about whether "Vacation time" is allowed as an answer.

It is therefore unclear to me whether "Vacation time" is allowed as a direct response to a "Time warning", or whether "Vacation time" should have been pronounced BEFORE the "Time warning".

Another question is, what happens after the "Vacation time" has expired? Would a "Time warning" have to be pronounced again afterwards or not?

I think the rules should be clarified for such rare situations as here.