correct claim of threefold repitition

Queen_bishop65
if during the process of reputation, the opponent's piece captures the pawn and then land on the same square third time. does it be considered the same position for threefold claim.
Lagomorph
Queen_bishop65 wrote:
if during the process of reputation, the opponent's piece captures the pawn and then land on the same square third time. does it be considered the same position for threefold claim.

3 fold repetition is repetition of board position, not moves

Martin_Stahl
Lagomorph wrote:
Queen_bishop65 wrote:
if during the process of reputation, the opponent's piece captures the pawn and then land on the same square third time. does it be considered the same position for threefold claim.

3 fold repetition is repetition of board position, not moves

 

A capture of a pawn, automatically would deviate from any repetition, so no claim could be made from that position, unless it repeats two more times.

Queen_bishop65

Thanks Martin and Lagomorph... I did a deep research on threefold repitition. You both are correct. It is a position that counts not the intermediate moves. player with a move need to do claim for the same.

Martin_Stahl
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

Thanks Martin and Lagomorph... I did a deep research on threefold repitition. You both are correct. It is a position that counts not the intermediate moves. player with a move need to do claim for the same.

 

Intermediate moves can come into play since all move possibilities on each position have to be the same. For example, if one side had the ability to capture en passant in the first position, that would not be countable for repetition. If castling was possible in one of the positions and the rook or king had moved and subsequently moved back to its original square, that postion is not a repitition, since castling would no longer be possible.

Queen_bishop65

one more thing to clear... if a player intentionally repeat his position three times to draw the game during the intermediate or opening game.. is this claim valid

Lagomorph
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

one more thing to clear... if a player intentionally repeat his position three times to draw the game during the intermediate or opening game.. is this claim valid

"a" player (singular), cannot create a threefold repetition through his own moves only. It requires both players to create three identical positions. Of course it is possible that the opponent has only a limited number of moves (forced moves) which can lead to a threefold, but this is unlikely to appear in the opening or middle game.

If they want a draw in the opening or middle game they can just agree to one.

Queen_bishop65

as far as I learned about it is that it is not necessary that both players need to create three identical position. A player who wants to claim for the draw needs to occur the same position three times (not necessarily in a sequence).

Queen_bishop65

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Threefold_repetition check the examples given in this link and correct me if I am wrong.

Martin_Stahl
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

as far as I learned about it is that it is not necessary that both players need to create three identical position. A player who wants to claim for the draw needs to occur the same position three times (not necessarily in a sequence).

 

The whole position has to repeat, with the same side on the move and all possible move options have to be available in each position for the claim to count.

 

What @Lagomorph is saying, is that one player repeating moves is not enough, since the other player would also need to move in such a way that the whole position repeats. 

Lagomorph
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

as far as I learned about it is that it is not necessary that both players need to create three identical position. A player who wants to claim for the draw needs to occur the same position three times (not necessarily in a sequence).

Well, to have a position repeat three times each player needs to move a piece to a square it occupied before. If that does not happen how can you possibly have a board position repeat three times ?

Queen_bishop65

dear... it is not necessary that opponent is required to repeat the position three times. A player who wants to claim the draw is required to repeat the position. Suppose there are two players, A and B. Player A repeat the King three times on f2 square. But it is not necessary for the player B to repeat it's position 3times, it may happen or may not.

Lagomorph
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

dear... it is not necessary that opponent is required to repeat the position three times. A player who wants to claim the draw is required to repeat the position. Suppose there are two players, A and B. Player A repeat the King three times on f2 square. But it is not necessary for the player B to repeat it's position 3times, it may happen or may not.

I suggest you read the article on 3 fold Rep again.

1. It is the board position that needs to be repeated.

2. For a position to repeat both players have to move their pieces to a previously occupied square.

3. If the opponent does not move a piece to a previously occupied square....the position is not repeated.

Queen_bishop65

can you send me the link of this article

Lagomorph
Queen_bishop65 wrote:

can you send me the link of this article

I am refering to the article you linked to.

 

I understand there may be a language difficulty here, but the rule is quite simple. Please read up on it. There is lots of information on the web.