I guess I didn't see that part in the rules. You say a king checkmates an opposing king.
That's an update on my earlier (modest) conclusions. When the rules say that the king is checkmated by the (preceding) move - and that move was a king's move - then inevitably that king can be said to checkmate. There are a million true statements that are not in the rules - because they are deducible from the rules like - "Bishop g7 can move to e5". The chess rules (like most rules on anything) try to be generic to be readable, logical and save space.
You can say it if you want, but it's still impossible. A king cannot attack, or check, another king. A checkmate requires attack, which a king cannot perform on another king.
So, in your opinion, in the diagram a couple posts ago, is the king the principal or an accessory? In other words, is he attacking (checking) the opposing king?
I guess I didn't see that part in the rules. You say a king checkmates an opposing king.
That's an update on my earlier (modest) conclusions. When the rules say that the king is checkmated by the (preceding) move - and that move was a king's move - then inevitably that king can be said to checkmate. There are a million true statements that are not in the rules - because they are deducible from the rules like - "Bishop g7 can move to e5". The chess rules (like most rules on anything) try to be generic to be readable, logical and save space.