It IS possible to mate with two knights and a king!

Sort:
Avatar of 7thSense

Believe it or not, there IS a checkmate with 2 knigh

ts and a king. Here it is:

Avatar of 7thSense

And also, it IS possible to mate with two bishops and a king!

Avatar of quixote88pianist

That's right; mate can also be forced with a Bishop and Knight. (Mate with two Bishops can be forced, but it cannot be forced---only set up---with two Knights.) A lot of people think that K+2N vs. K should be an automatic draw, because mate can't be forced. However, since mate can be achieved somehow, K+2N vs. K is not insufficient material.

Avatar of quixote88pianist

Hm. I just realized that a part of my post is a little confusing. To clarify:

K+2B vs. K = forced mate.

K+B+N vs. K = forced mate.

K+2N vs. K = mate is possible, but not forcible.

Avatar of 7thSense

Lol and that is what this forum is all about. And it IS possible to mate with one of each minor! Here is how you do it:

Avatar of 7thSense

I've found a two-minor/king checkmate with all combinations of pieces, so what else should i do on this forum?

Avatar of 7thSense

I see your point... if the opponent is stupid enough, then it is forcible. But all 3 are definitely possible, as shown above.

Avatar of Dragec

which is something familiar to all players except absolute beginners Cool

Avatar of 7thSense

Just about 30 seconds before this post i am making, I made my highest win ever!

Avatar of quixote88pianist

The thing is, you're setting up the checkmates very nicely, but you're not allowing Black the best defense. In other words, you're not proving that they are forced mates. In your two-Knight example, Black could play 1. ... Kh6. In your two-Bishop example, the Black King is not obligated to stay on the h-file; he could try to flee to the center of the board. And in your Bishop/Knight example, Black could play 1. ... Kf8 instead of Kh8. You did very well in observing that checkmate is possible with these combinations of pieces. I think your next step should be to study how you can force the checkmates with the two Bishops and the Bishop/Knight combo. (Remember, it can't be forced with the two Knights.)

Avatar of quixote88pianist

Dragec, many players may know that the mates are possible, but not quite so many can actually do them. Smile

And 7thSense, congratulations on the big win!

Avatar of 7thSense

quixote, I am not trying to FORCE the checkmates, I am just showing that they are possible, and not insufficient material. Based on your location, I think you live right around the block from me! (I'm in missouri also)

Avatar of Dragec

My point exactly, if the OP would want someone to learn a knight+ bishop mate, he should have played the best possible defence.

But, I would bet a beer that he doesn't actually know how to mate within 50 moves, so I asked about the reasons behind posting the obvious facts Wink

Avatar of 7thSense

Exactly. It is extremely unlikely to happen. Gotta jet! Seeya later guys

Avatar of quixote88pianist

I see what you're getting at now. Still, knowing how to force these checkmates is very valuable, and it can give you a big advantage. I see that you're a Platinum member; you ought to watch some of the videos available on Chess.com to learn about how to clinch the win in these scenarios. Good luck!

Avatar of ilmago

Of course, mate is possible even with a single knight or a single bishop against some material.

However, it seems to me that the technical term "insufficient mating material" is intended to mean something specific and well-defined as regards the USCF rules. I have seen something that seems to be paragraph 8d in these rules, and I have seen a Q+A in the USCF clock rules that have stated that a player being flagged while having R+P vs N will have the game declared a draw.

Does anybody know anything specific about these USCF rules and their common implementation in tournament play / chess server play in the US, and wish to share their knowledge here ?

Avatar of Dragec

ilmago, "insufficient mating material" is one thing, perhaps you meant "insufficient losing chances" ?

Anyhow, IMO this may as well deserve its own thread, or to be posted in the threads regarding draw/wins on time, and not in this thread Cool

Avatar of ilmago

I do mean "insufficient mating material" and not "insufficient losing chances". (I know a bit about both, and that the latter rule has ceased to be used in many tournaments.)

Avatar of Dragec

OK, here you go Cool

look at 31.

http://www.dallaschess.com/scholastics/2001champ/tournamentrules.html

part VII

http://main.uschess.org/content/view/7324/28/

 

http://clatskaniechessclub.tripod.com/id15.html

Avatar of dschaef2

If it was 2 N + K vs. K I would immediately offer a draw because the opponent would really have to try to give you a checkmate.  There is no point in dancing around the board for 50 moves.