Forums

16 Tips from a 2300-Rated Player

Sort:
MaetsNori

A bit of background info about myself:

• I've been playing off and on for over 20 years.
  • I had a National Master coach at one point.
  • The highest rated player I've beaten in Classical chess was a 2405-rated International Master, in a simul.
  • And ... I've lost more games than I could possibly count.

This last point leads me into the first tip:

1) Be prepared to lose.

Losing isn't a bad thing. Losing is necessary. It's part of the process. You must make mistakes and lose, in order to learn from them.

2) Winning should not be your goal; learning should be your goal.

If all you're trying to do is win, you'll inevitably get frustrated or demoralized when that doesn't happen. Instead, make learning your goal. Every game has something to teach you.

3) Review every game, after you play it. Every single one.

Even your won games. Especially your lost games. Don't play another game until you have reviewed the game you just played. What other moves could you have tried? What might your opponent have played, if you had moved this way, instead? Take the time to move pieces around, and to try to learn what you can.

4) Review with your mind first. Check with the engine later.

Don't just jump into asking the engine what you should have done - try to figure out these answers on your own, first. Use that brain of yours. Think things over. If you try hard enough, you might be able to spot things that you didn't, while you were playing. Only after you've looked through the game to the best of your own ability, should you then consult the engine, to see what you've missed.

5) The chess engine isn't "God".

You don't always have to play the moves that the chess engine suggests. This is especially true if the engine's moves are too complicated for you to understand. Try to play in a way that makes sense to you - not in a way that you think you're "supposed" to.

6) Don't let "fear" become part of your playing.