En Passant rule?

Sort:
dzp1111
Just wondering if an En Passant is applicable during the entire game. Meaning if I’m able to move en passant can I chose to apply it at anytime even in the engame?

I imagine this would happen if the opponent is unaware of this move then all of a sudden I play it later in the game.

d
Lordpotato999

what do you mean? You can always play the move if the pawns are setup in the correct position for the move and the enemy needs to push the pawn the move before you play the move. You can't do it after that one opportunity. In the endgame it is a bit rarer because pawns tend to have been traded or moved but you can still play the move. does that answer your question?

bigD521

When the opportunity arises for a capture by en passant, yes you can do so no matter what stage the game is in.. However when this takes place you must do it immediately, not in the future.

dzp1111
Question answered, thanks. I once was in a position when I could’ve played it but was working on another play, so I ignored it. All ended well (I lost), but I only became curious to know if anything cancelled out the opportunity at some point.

Thanks for quick reply.

d
VenemousViper

Yes, you can capture en passant any time in the game - but only on the move right after the pawn is pushed two squares.

dzp1111
“.. but only on the move right after the pawn is pushed two squares.”

You just confused me. The words “but ONLY after..” sounds conditional.
Thepasswordis1234

Look if you don't understand

Thepasswordis1234

If you then click the analysis option on the second board, you won't be able to en passant

dzp1111
What you’re saying then is that if you don’t move (en passant) right away (when it’s available) you lose the privilege going forward?
aVeryHandsomeFella
dzp1111 wrote:
What you’re saying then is that if you don’t move (en passant) right away (when it’s available) you lose the privilege going forward?

Yes, it must be done immediately.

dzp1111
Then there’s the answer to my question. Appreciated.
dzp1111
However, I believe I got different answers..
Onestryk

Hey guys

Diamondsalamander

But if there is checkmate do that instead obvs a guy on YouTube fell for that mistake and got checkmate instead hilarious.

bigD521
dzp1111 wrote:
However, I believe I got different answers..

No, you received the same answer worded differently. EX: Immediately, Right now, as Soon as, Before moving another piece.............. happy

bigD521
bigD521 wrote:
dzp1111 wrote:
However, I believe I got different answers..

No, you received the same answer worded differently. EX: Immediately, Right now, as Soon as, Before moving another piece..............

Edited to add - and they all have the same condition as you are thinking.

AngusByers

When an opponent moves a pawn 2 squares (only possible if the pawn hasn't yet moved), and it ends up beside one of your pawns (either side of it), you may capture that pawn en passant as your reply to that move. If you do not capture on that turn, you forfeit that option for your later moves.
It does not matter what stage of the game you are at, so even if you're down to King + 1 pawn each, if the above conditions are met, you may still choose to capture en passant.

Lordpotato999
dzp1111 a écrit :
However, I believe I got different answers..

Yeah my answer was kinda confusing on reread sorry about that

ostrichyyy
dsscd
VenemousViper
dzp1111 wrote:
What you’re saying then is that if you don’t move (en passant) right away (when it’s available) you lose the privilege going forward?

Yes, it must be done immediately.