Forums

Forced draws

Sort:
Spirtox
Every once in a while I’ll be playing a losing game and the opportunity comes to salvage a draw by repeatedly checking the king or something similar. Is this considered petty in anyway by other players or is it perfectly fine to do so? Just something I’m wondering about chess etiquette.
Chess_Player_lol

forcing a draw in a losing position is perfectly fine. A chess player should fight to their best ability and if it means forcing a draw, it means forcing a draw. don't get me wrong it will frustrate your opponents for blundering a repetition, but it is not unsportsmanlike in anyway.

justbefair

It's perfectly fine.

blueemu

If you have an opportunity to force a draw, then it isn't a losing position.

It's a drawn position.

And it's perfectly fair and honorable to do so.

If your opponent complains, they are just being a whiner.

djkline10

What is considered repetitive in number of checkmates if you are cornering your opponent.  I'm confused.

djkline10

Sorry, I meant repetitive number of checks on the opponents king.  I was chasing the king around and ended up a draw.  Not sure if there's a specific number of checks before there's a draw.

tygxc

#7
No there is no number of checks.
It is about 3-fold repetition of the position or about 50 moves without capture or pawn move.
9.2.1
The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, when the same position for at least the third time (not necessarily by a repetition of moves):
9.2.1.1
is about to appear, if he first indicate his move by writing on the paper scoresheet or entering move on the electronic scoresheet, which cannot be changed, on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move, or
9.2.1.2
has just appeared, and the player claiming the draw has the move.
9.2.2
Positions are considered the same if and only if the same player has the move, pieces of the same kind and colour occupy the same squares and the possible moves of all the pieces of both players are the same. Thus positions are not the same if:
9.2.2.1
at the start of the sequence a pawn could have been captured en passant
9.2.2.2
a king had castling rights with a rook that has not been moved, but forfeited these after moving. The castling rights are lost only after the king or rook is moved.
9.3
The game is drawn, upon a correct claim by a player having the move, if:
9.3.1
he indicates his move, by writing on the paper scoresheet or entering move on the electronic scoresheet cannot be changed, on his scoresheet and declares to the arbiter his intention to make this move which will result in the last 50 moves by each player having been made without the movement of any pawn and without any capture, or
9.3.2
the last 50 moves by each player have been completed without the movement of any pawn and without any capture.
https://handbook.fide.com/chapter/E012018 

Chess_Player_lol
djkline10 wrote:

Sorry, I meant repetitive number of checks on the opponents king.  I was chasing the king around and ended up a draw.  Not sure if there's a specific number of checks before there's a draw.

there are only 5 ways a draw can occur in a game.

1. agreement - if both players agree to a draw, then the game is a draw

2. stalemate - if a player has no legal moves on his/her turn, but is not in check then it is a draw

3. 50 move rule - if both players have not moved a pawn or captured a piece within 50 moves, a player is allowed to claim a draw. (this site has a feature where it auto claims the draw)

4. insufficient material vs timeout - if one player runs out of time, but their opponent does not have enough material to checkmate his opponent then it is considered a draw.

5. repetition - if a position occurs 3 times in a game (does not have to be consecutive) then either player is allowed to claim a draw (again chess.com has an auto claim feature).

 

you probably reached the 50-move rule or you repeated the position 3 times and your opponent claimed a draw.

djkline10

Ah, thanks for the clarification.

jonnin

forcing a draw is petty.   If its truly a drawn position, check-check-check.... 23 moves later...  draw means either neither of you were smart enough to offer a draw or someone refused to accept it, forcing you to both play a stupid check-and-move-repeat game for however long it takes.  The problem here is not sportsmanship nor fair play nor being a bunghole to get your draw, the problem here is one or both of the players is failing to hit a button for whatever reason (the kindest of which is simply ignorance, belief that there could be a different outcome). 

mythofsys

What's the etiquette OTB here? I only recently started playing OTB and I was in a situation where I was totally outplayed but could force perpetual checks. I kind of awkwardly said I didn't know the etiquette but I would keep checking him if we played on, and we agreed on a draw. Everyone else was a beginner too so nobody knew if I did it correctly.

blueemu
mythofsys wrote:

What's the etiquette OTB here? I only recently started playing OTB and I was in a situation where I was totally outplayed but could force perpetual checks. I kind of awkwardly said I didn't know the etiquette but I would keep checking him if we played on, and we agreed on a draw. Everyone else was a beginner too so nobody knew if I did it correctly.

There's no such thing as a draw by perpetual check. The rule that applies is the triple repetition of position. Whether or not it happens via a series of checks is irrelevant.

If you mean, "Is it proper and honorable to force a draw when you are losing?"... well, of course it is. If you are in a position to force a draw, then you AREN'T losing.

Chess_Player_lol
mythofsys wrote:

What's the etiquette OTB here? I only recently started playing OTB and I was in a situation where I was totally outplayed but could force perpetual checks. I kind of awkwardly said I didn't know the etiquette but I would keep checking him if we played on, and we agreed on a draw. Everyone else was a beginner too so nobody knew if I did it correctly.

The etiquette in the US you don't talk unless you are resigning or offering a draw(with nothing else added). offering a draw or just playing the repitition are both equally fine.