Draw by repetition is only if BOTH sides have the exact same position three times, not just one player.
Have I misunderstood the rule for draw in repetition ?

Almost no matter what happens in a game, a lot of pieces for both sides will be on the same square for more than 3 moves. It is very bizarre to assume that any player can claim a draw at any point in any game.

Almost no matter what happens in a game, a lot of pieces for both sides will be on the same square for more than 3 moves. It is very bizarre to assume that any player can claim a draw at any point in any game.
You're right, it seems a bit stupid to assume that

Imo resign, take your lumps and move on instead of trying to pull out a draw in a game that clearly just didn't go your way. We've all been there.

The point to the threefold repetition rule is that neither side is making any progress. In your game, clearly black was making progress as their pawn was advancing to (an unstoppable) promotion.
It doesn't matter if the repetition is relatively immediate (i.e., moving away then moving back on the next turn), or if there are many moves in between. What matters is that neither side is making progress in the meantime - no pieces are being captured, no pawns are moving, nobody is losing castling (or en passant) rights, as all of these would indicate an impossibility of repeating the position. You both are just shuffling pieces around (maybe with checks, maybe not), and nothing is getting done.
The 50-move rule follows similar logic. A threefold repetition is simply a way to acknowledge the situation well before 50 moves are made. In both instances, nobody is making progress; it is just a matter of whether any particular position is getting repeated or not.
Hello,
As you can see in my game I have been in the F3 position three times in a row and it didn't count as a draw. Can someone explain ?
Thanks