How did my opponent castle through check?

Sort:
Scott_DDS

On move 15 he plays O-O-O, but his castle goes through b1, which my bishop on F5 is attacking; I thought you cannot castle through an attack?

Tee

your opponent's castle was not through check. you can castle as long as its the king and rooks first move, you arent being checked, and it doesnt put you in check. it didnt put your opponent in check, and they were not in check already.

(apologies if i was confusing, im not the best at explaining.)

AJN72
The rule is that the king must not move through a square that is attacked or be in check. The rook can move through a square under attack as happened here.
Scott_DDS

Ah makes sense thank you. I thought the rule was you can't castle through an attacked square full stop, wasn't aware that the rook can move through one but the king can't.