How does white checkmate black in one move?

Sort:
Avatar of laurengoodkindchess

Hi! My name is Lauren Goodkind and I’m a chess coach and chess YouTuber based in California: 

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCP5SPSG_sWSYPjqJYMNwL_Q

White to move.   How does white checkmate black in one move?  This position came from a recent game that I played.  

Avatar of flippantzealot

rookd8

Avatar of chuppecat

Rd8

Avatar of dikmasterson

It is very satisfying when the opponent's king only escape route is blocked by his own pieces, and is getting attacked on two or more fronts.

---

If not for the one move rule (assume Rook at d1 didn't exist), I would go e5.

Black pawn takes: Qf7 checkmate.

Otherwise e6 or f6 the next move for white.

Avatar of jetoba
dikmasterson wrote:

It is very satisfying when the opponent's king only escape route is blocked by his own pieces, and is getting attacked on two or more fronts.

---

If not for the one move rule (assume Rook at d1 didn't exist), I would go e5.

Black pawn takes: Qf7 checkmate.

Otherwise e6 or f6 the next move for white.

White is still winning without a d1 Rook but e5 is met by Rxh4+ and then Kf8.  Be6 would still force mate the following move.

Avatar of Plasma_Deep

Rd8

Avatar of Luthien1337
RD8
Avatar of Imgonnawinagainstu

Rd8

Avatar of mhc180

Rd8#

Avatar of SpandanDas11

Rd8# 

 

Avatar of vamsi2203

Rd8#