Impossible Chess Puzzle???

Sort:
Avatar of DefinitelyNotGM

White to play and mate in one, also an old rule:

Avatar of CP6033

DefinatelyNotGM it is impossible.

Avatar of chaotic_iak

1. Ad4-f6#. The bishop was an alfil, a bishop-like piece that can only move two squares diagonally but is not obstructed by pieces, just like a knight can jump.

Avatar of chess_jawa

Definitelynotgm push the white pawn to a square #(to lazy to find which square)

Avatar of keju

If that's how the alfil moves, can it still give check from f6?

Avatar of chaotic_iak

Yes, f6 attacks h8 as it's two squares diagonally away. (Alfil doesn't need a piece to jump over just like knight doesn't need any. I think I unintentionally worded my post so that an alfil must have a "hurdle" or a piece to jump over for a move; this is not the case. If it is, alfil would be an extremely weak piece, less than a pawn.)

Avatar of keju

How on earth do you know about alfil? Smile

Avatar of Frankwho

In this position, you can promote to any piece.

White to play and mate in two:

Avatar of chaotic_iak

@keju: Read Wikipedia?

@Frankwho: ...oh, this is sooo cruel. 1. e8=bK!! Kd8 2. Qe7##!.

Avatar of keju

LOL frankwho.

Avatar of chaotic_iak

Mate in 2. Old puzzle, from 1711...

Avatar of Remellion

A relevant bit of history, since the puzzle is Italian.

In Rome from the early 17th century until the late 19th century, the rook could be placed on any square up to and including the king's square, and the king could be moved to any square on the other side of the rook. This was called "free castling".

Avatar of Frankwho

Then I guess the answer is 0-0 with the K on h1 and the R on f1 (how do you notate this?). Black plays h2 and White plays Qd3#.

Avatar of DefinitelyNotGM

Avatar of Frankwho

1. fxg8=Q#. A long time ago Queens were only allowed to move one square diagonally.

Avatar of chaotic_iak

@Frankwho: Back then nobody cares about notating. I think notation comes after castling is revised to its modern form.

Avatar of 3point14times2

This is a weird position...

White to move, Mate in 1

Avatar of jivvi
CP6033 wrote:

gzknight20 you can't promote a white pawn to a black piece.

That wasn't always specified in the rules.

Avatar of Frankwho

I think I forgot to cite the problem I posted. This is a modified version of a problem from Igor Khmelnitsky's book Chess Exam and Training Guide: Tactics.

Avatar of Galileo22

Nxe8#. Solution for the puzzle on the other page.