Forums

Counter Play?

Sort:
swansodb

I'm new to chess and hear this term a lot.  Could someone tell me what it means?

Thanks.

zxb995511

Often times in chess especially when playing the black pieces you cannot get the initiative or in plain english, you don't have any real activity and don't have any chances to stir up trouble at the momemnt. Counter play is that chance you get to "fight back" and start stirring up trouble for your opponent later on. Depending on when you see the term used it could mean a variaty of things. But almost in any case it will refer to someone who is considered to be "losing", "has a worse position" or has a more "passive position" is going to try to stir up some trouble for the opponent.

Atos

No, it is usually used to refer to the Black player having, or attempting to obtain active play, assuming that the White probably has it. It doesn't imply that they are losing, nor that they are worse off necessarily.

orangehonda

Well the side that gets counter play doesn't have to necessarily be losing I guess, but they're getting play to make up for some sort of disadvantage, even if it's just a very solid but passive position.  That's basically what it means, you have one type of disadvantage, but something else that makes up for it is your counter play.

There are different types of advantages in chess, having more pieces (material) is just one of them.  Counter play may mean you gave up a few pawns for an initiative... and maybe that's not how it always is but I usually think of it as having a static disadvantage (less material, poor pawns) but also gained a dynamic advantage (initiative, development) which makes up for it.

Elubas