Endgame Rule?

Sort:
muggles

Hi All,

My daddy used to tell me that when you get the king on its own at the end of a chess game, you have to mate it in 24 moves or less...is this true? or was my daddy full of it?

 

Cheers!

Muggles


lanceuppercut_239
He was close. The actual rule is: if both sides make 50 consecutive moves without capturing a piece or moving a pawn, the game is a draw.
muggles
Is this the case on chess.com too then lanceuppercut ... do you know?
lanceuppercut_239
It's a standard chess rule, so I would assume the answer is yes (and if not, we should file a bug report!) - however, you may have to press the "offer draw" button to actually claim the draw once the draw condition has been fulfilled (I'm not 100% sure about that one).