Forums

Getting a better understanding of the sicilian defence

Sort:
Chris2509

After reading some explanations and watching some videos, I started playing the sicilian, but I still want to get a better understanding of it.

- How do I choose a variation? What are the main differences between the classical, the dragon and the Najdorf variation?

- Let's say I finished the development of the defence. What sould I keep in my mind when the game goes on?

Any moves I shouldn't play so I don't weaken the defence?

Any specific areas of the opponent I should target?

- What do I do if the opponent plays an unexpected move in the beginning, like 2.Bc4? Do I stick to the book moves of the sicilian defence, or do I try to take advantage of it?

- One unrelated question:

I always wondered why after 1. e4 c5 2. Nf3 d6 3. d4 cxd4 4. Nxd4 black doesn't play e5.

It will kick off the knight, force white to lose tempo and black looks good after that.

Scottrf

Search for pawn structures on wiki, and look at the Sicilian ones.

Black can play e5 there, but it gives white a hole on d5 and the d6 pawn is backwards, and white has an open d file and can get play against this.

zkman

I would recommend trying out 1. ...e5 to start out with. But if you have your mind set on the sicilian I would recommend the Kan Variation. It's pretty simple to learn and there is not a lot of theory required. Knowledge of the middlegame positions are more important. 

Many of the questions you asked are specific to certain positions and variations and, in all honesty, would take a while to explain. 

I would guess the easiest way to, for example, learn what to do after 2. Bc4 is to encounter it in a game and post in the forums or look over the game yourself. Not only is it more specific but will stick with you longer as it is your own game.

Best of luck!

MSC157

To be honest, black doesn't look good.

blasterdragon
Chris2509 wrote: