How do I claim a draw by threefold repetition

Sort:
hitthepin
I’m in a daily game that I️ want to end as a draw by threefold repetition. The position has been repeated three times? How do I do it? If anyone knows please say so. Thanks.
IMKeto

Click on the Draw button.

Chef-KOdAwAri
And just in case... if you want to resign.... click on the Resign button.
hitthepin
Thanks
EditorandTranscriber

I am in the same position, but when I click on the draw button, it just offers my opponent a draw, which he then declines. Can anybody help me, clearly I am misunderstanding something. Here is the link to my game. https://www.chess.com/daily/game/183091040

Lagomorph
gutsy1001 wrote:

I am in the same position, but when I click on the draw button, it just offers my opponent a draw, which he then declines. Can anybody help me, clearly I am misunderstanding something. Here is the link to my game. https://www.chess.com/daily/game/183091040

 

Threefold repetition requires the same board position to be repeated three times. That is not the case in your game.

EditorandTranscriber
Lagomorph wrote:
gutsy1001 wrote:

I am in the same position, but when I click on the draw button, it just offers my opponent a draw, which he then declines. Can anybody help me, clearly I am misunderstanding something. Here is the link to my game. https://www.chess.com/daily/game/183091040

 

Threefold repetition requires the same board position to be repeated three times. That is not the case in your game.

Hi there. Thank you - so it's not the same move repeated three times over?

IMKeto
gutsy1001 wrote:
Lagomorph wrote:
gutsy1001 wrote:

I am in the same position, but when I click on the draw button, it just offers my opponent a draw, which he then declines. Can anybody help me, clearly I am misunderstanding something. Here is the link to my game. https://www.chess.com/daily/game/183091040

 

Threefold repetition requires the same board position to be repeated three times. That is not the case in your game.

Hi there. Thank you - so it's not the same move repeated three times over?

The same position has to be repeated 3 times.

Lagomorph
gutsy1001 wrote:

Hi there. Thank you - so it's not the same move repeated three times over?

 

No.

In your game you repeated the same move back and forth. Your opponent did not. If he had done then you could have claimed the draw if the position had repeated three times. The same board position has to repeat three times for a draw claim to be valid. This can arise from the same moves being repeated but does not have to be.

Malaceth
[COMMENT DELETED]
DanielWrench

Press the draw button after the repetition

Lagomorph
mwk42 wrote:

Press the draw button after the repetition

Read the thread in it's entirety. The OP has already been given the same advice, and the new poster was pressing the draw button but did not understand the rule.