How is this Castling possible with the bishop on e5?

Sort:
Avatar of qball8

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
qball8 wrote:

 

 

The rule is that the king can't move through an attacked square. The rook can.

Avatar of NikkiLikeChikki

What Martin said. In other words, the bishop attacks the b1 square, but the king only moves through the d1 and c1 squares.

Avatar of eric0022
qball8 wrote: (Post #1)

 

 

It took you seven years to realise this?

Avatar of many_hanging_pieces

It's a fair question, as it does not come up as regularly as the king being under attack when trying to castle.

Viktor Korchnoi famously asked the arbiter if castling was legal when his rook was under attack in the 1974 Candidates Tournament.