x
Chess - Play & Learn

Chess.com

FREE - In Google Play

FREE - in Win Phone Store

VIEW

How to claim a threefold repetition the right way in FIDE Tournaments

  • #1

    Yesterday, at FIDE Worldcup in Tromsø, Wang Hao claimed a threefold repetition in right moment. After his next move the same position would have occured the third time. But he forgot to write down his move! The arbiters reacted very correct, gave his opp, Dreev, three extra mins, started Wang Haos clock again and made him write down the move first before claiming the draw again. Then it was an official draw. Read the full story at chessbase.com (scroll down ~ middle of page).

    Here is a reprint of that game:



    So according to FIDE Rules (see 9.2.) there are two situations when the claim is correct:

    a) your opp moved and position now on board has appeared (at least) the third time. In that case just stop the clock and claim the draw.

    b) After your next move the same position will appear (at least) the third time. In that case write down your move, but dont make the move! Then stop the clock, and claim the draw.

    Be precise here, otherwise one day you will bite your own ass Wink

  • #2

    if everything you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

  • #3
    nilshero wrote:

    if everything you have is a hammer, every problem looks like a nail.

    I wouldn't recommend chess for that person. Nobody wants their pieces nailed to the board.

Top

Online Now