is En passant forced???

Sort:
Avatar of NemiDaGr8
Do I always have to do a En passant
Avatar of albacored

https://www.chess.com/forum/view/general/forced-en-passant

https://www.chess.com/forum/view/general/en-passant-should-not-be-forced

https://www.chess.com/forum/view/general/is-en-passant-forced

Opinion tends towards that it's optional unless it's your only option, in which case then it is forced.

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
albacored wrote:

...

Opinion tends towards that it's optional unless it's your only option, in which case then it is forced.

It's not an opinion, it's the rule. happy.png

It's an option unless it's the only legal move on the board, then it's forced.

Avatar of albacored
Martin_Stahl wrote:
albacored wrote:

...

Opinion tends towards that it's optional unless it's your only option, in which case then it is forced.

It's not an opinion, it's the rule.

It's option unless it's the only legal move on the board, then it's forced.

Surely that's just another opinion that it's the rule?

Avatar of landloch

There's a bit of a meme circulating that en passant is forced, but it is certainly not.

Avatar of MarioParty4
NemiDaGr8 wrote:
Do I always have to do a En passant

No, unless there are no other moves.

In this position, it is white's turn. If white played d4, en passant WOULD be forced, as there are no other moves for black to play.

Avatar of rooksb4

You don't.

Avatar of Coconuts

yes its a bannable offense if u dont

Avatar of MarioParty4
presidenthannah wrote:

yes its a bannable offense if u dont

Don't tell them that!

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
albacored wrote:

Surely that's just another opinion that it's the rule?

Yes, that is the rule. If the only legal move is en passant, it has to be made. That is the only time it is not optional.

Avatar of SacrifycedStoat
En passant is a move you can play, not must.
Avatar of magipi
SacrifycedStoat wrote:
En passant is a move you can play, not must.

What is the point of resurrecting this troll thread after almost 2 years?

Avatar of TheMidnightExpress12

Obviously not. Mods should have deleted/locked this ages ago

Avatar of BlueHen86
SacrifycedStoat wrote:
En passant is a move you can play, not must.

Thanks for clearing that up. I wasn't sure after reading all the responses from a year and a half ago.

Just like en passant, responding to old threads is not forced either.

Avatar of marklovejoy

#11, the only way I can see it being optional in the position shown in #6 would be like this: 1 d4 Resigns