move on a chess board

Sort:
garyrussell

my friend moved his queen from one end of the board to the other and then called check to get my rook then realized he was going to loose his rook then wanted to bring back the queen back never letting go of the piece is that a move with the queen or not?

eddiewsox

If you're playing that you have to let go of the piece, then it's not a move. 

shleena

if you touch a piece, you have to move that piece (unless you agree with the other player to move a piece on a square so that it is easier to see). If you don't let go of the piece, you can move it to a different square than you intended. When you let go of the piece, it is considered a move.

garyrussell

if called check does he have to let go of the piece?because he didnt let go of the queen he realized he was going to loose his rook after he called check

AMcHarg

Under Fide rules he has not finished his move until he lets go of the piece.  He must, however, move the piece that he has touched if it can make a legal move.

AMcHarg

Calling "check" doesn't matter, a player is not even ogligated to call "check" in any event, and actually some players, particularly of a high level, find it annoying when their opponent calls "check".

If a player calls "check" before he has made his move however then it could be considered that he is trying to distract you and he could get a warning from the arbiter.

garyrussell

he wanted to move the queen back to original square. and move a differant piece.is that allowed?

AMcHarg
garyrussell wrote:

he wanted to move the queen back to original square. and move a differant piece.is that allowed?


Not under tournament conditions.  If he touched the piece and it could make a legal move then he is obliged to move the piece.  It doesn't matter how terrible the move would appear, he has no choice.

garyrussell

so once he touches a piece thats the only piece he can move

garyrussell

thank you so much for your help

The_Pitts

Remember this is your friend, so maybe let him slide.Wink

garyrussell

would it be concidered a move if he moved the queen back to original square and let go of it, or is he obligated to still move the queen?