Most Recent
Forum Legend
Following
New Comments
Locked Topic
Pinned Topic
There seems to be a conflict between rules 4.4.4 and 4.7.3 based on Question 15
But I will go for the option A.
15. White moves the pawn to d8 and grabs the white Queen and puts it on d8 but does not release it from his hand and realizes there is a mate on f7.
a. White can choose another piece such as a Knight since he has not released the Queen.
b. White can choose another piece since he has not stopped the clock.
c. White has to choose the Queen since it touched the square.
d. White has to choose the Queen if he said “Queen”.
Rules:
4.4.4 promotes a pawn, the choice of the piece is finalised when the piece has touched the square of promotion.
4.7 When, as a legal move or part of a legal move, a piece has been released on a square, it cannot be moved to another square on this move. The move is considered to have been made in the case of:
xxx
4.7.3 Promotion, when the player’s hand has released the new piece on the square of promotion and the pawn has been removed from the board.
Opinion:
4.4.4 states that the choice of piece is finalized when the piece touches the square of promotion. This suggests that once White places the Queen on d8, the choice is made, and they cannot change it.
4.7.3 implies that the promotion is not complete until the new piece is released and the pawn is removed. This suggests that White could potentially change their mind before releasing the Queen.
Resolving the Conflict
To resolve this conflict, we need to consider the broader context of the rules and the specific scenario:
The primary purpose of 4.4.4 is to prevent accidental or unintentional promotions. By finalizing the choice of piece once it touches the square, it ensures that the player's intention is clear.
The primary purpose of 4.7.3 is to define the conditions for completing the promotion process. It ensures that the pawn is officially replaced by the promoted piece and is no longer part of the game.
Changing a piece is legal
The 4.7.3 doesn't explicitly state that White can change their mind. However, we can infer this from the following:
* Rule 4.7.3: This rule specifies that the promotion is complete when the new piece is released on the square of promotion.
* White hasn't released the Queen: Since White hasn't released the Queen, the promotion is not yet complete according to the rule.
* Implication: If the promotion is not complete, it follows that White can still make changes, such as choosing a different piece.
While the rule doesn't explicitly state this, it's a logical conclusion based on the existing rules and the current situation.
Therefore, while the rule doesn't directly say "White can change their mind," the implication from the rules is clear: White can still choose a different piece for the promotion.
New Rule
As provide in
https://www.chess.com/news/view/changes-in-laws-of-chess---what-should-you-know-8522
4.7 is a new rule adopted in October 2013. As a general rule:
New rule supersedes the old rule.
This principle is common in many fields, including law, regulations, and guidelines.
In this context, if a newer rule contradicts an older rule, the newer rule takes precedence. This is to ensure that the game is played according to the most up-to-date regulations.
Issues
What does it constitute? An infringement or illegal move for violating 4.4.4 or the touched move rule
In this scenario, where a player places the Queen on the promotion square but then tries to change their mind, it constitutes an illegal move.
This is because the player has violated rule 4.4.4. This rule states that when a player intends to promote a pawn, the choice of the piece is finalized once the piece has touched the square of promotion. By attempting to change the piece after touching it to the square, the player is going against this established rule.
This action can be considered an illegal move because it violates the established rules of the game. However, it conforms to rule 4.7.3.