Yes see article 6.11.2 A player may stop the chessclock only in order to seek the arbiter’s assistance, for example when promotion has taken place and the piece required is not available.
Most Recent
Forum Legend
Following
New Comments
Locked Topic
Pinned Topic
I was recently reading through the FIDE rules of chess and had a question that I could not find the answer to.
During blitz chess, if a player promotes a pawn and wants a queen for example. If the queen is not obtainable (in opponents hand or out of reach) is the player allowed to pause/hit the clock or does he have to waste time waiting for his opponent to give him the queen.
If someone knows the answer could you please tell me and give me a source where I can find the rule officially written.
Thanks.