pawn promotion

Sort:
Avatar of rahul2227

what if a players while promting pawn puts opponets queen on the board!! in hurry!! will it be a illegal move or dead pawn of player on 8th rank or opponents qeen!!

Avatar of williamn27

Illegal, the move will be taken back and that player must move the pawn (due to the touch move rule) and effectively to promote.

Avatar of sumit_sharma

i think due to negligence or due to hurry if white (say) promote black Queen then, he (White) have to play with the black queen on board.

Avatar of Martin_Stahl
You can only promote to pieces of your own color. So post 2 is correct and it is an illegal move. If it was rated blitz, that loses the game.
Avatar of ActuallySleepy
If it were rated blitz would it not be a 2 min penalty?
Avatar of williamn27
Martin_Stahl wrote:
You can only promote to pieces of your own color. So post 2 is correct and it is an illegal move. If it was rated blitz, that loses the game.

That's one 'yes'.