rule of not moving twice

Sort:
209rayzor
if im into 3rd move with e4 & d4 set and blk has mirrored do i continue to develop minor piece's to protect e4 & d4 or do i break rule & take blk pawn on 3rd move..hopefully i made sense , im just starting to learn .
EscherehcsE

I think in this case you break the guidelines and take with 3. dxe5. If Black retakes with 3...dxe4, then you can trade off the queens; The black king will have to move to recapture the queen, so Black will not be able to castle. You also might be able to go up a pawn in material later, but just keeping Black from castling is worth breaking the guidelines.